Glossybox Review, July 2017

Glossybox, $21 per month US, has many international versions

IMG_2308.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

This baby bun was feeling a little shy!  She didn't want to look at the camera.

Glossybox is a beauty box that sends subscribers five to six products each month.  The samples are often full size or deluxe sample size.  You tend to get more skincare than makeup in this box, but there is always a mix.  Glossybox used to send mostly higher end brands, but their boxes for the past year have included a lot of brands I've never heard of.  Glossybox likes to include products from European brands that don't sell their products in the U.S., so, if there is a product I really like, I may not be able to buy it.  There is a lot of product variation, so some subscribers receive boxes that are worth much more than those other subscribers receive.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what I got:

My July Glossybox was worth $74.93.  That's a pretty average value for Glossybox.  Four of the products were full size (five if you count the Z-palette)!  I got three skincare products, a makeup item, two hair care products, a nail product, and a Z-palette, so there was a great variety of stuff.  As always with Glossybox, there was some variation, so you may have received different products.  I believe everyone received the NCLA pen and the Doucce palette and blush.

This month, Glossybox allowed subscribers to choose their box color!  The box had a special tropical design.  Subscribers could choose from pink and orange (which is the color of mine above), red and blue, green and blue, and purple and yellow.  I had a hard time choosing between pink and orange and purple and yellow, but I thought I had settled on purple and yellow as it was a little different.  I've heard a lot of people complain that Glossybox sent them the wrong box color, so there's a good chance I really did pick the purple and yellow.  It's still pretty, though, and it's just a box, so I'm not upset about it.  I really disliked the red and blue and I didn't like the blue and green all that much, so I would have been more annoyed if I had gotten one of those colors.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

First up, we have a full size Figs and Rouge Avancé+ Invisible Pores Night Detox Micro Refining Serum.  This is a serum that contains witch hazel and aloe.  It's supposed to clean out and minimize pores and promote collagen production.  This has helped clear up my face and make it look better than it has in a couple weeks!  

FullSizeRender.jpg

Dr. Pawpaw Multipurpose Soothing Balm can be used for just about anything.  Dr. Pawpaw suggests using it for lips, skin, nails and cuticles, diaper cream, sunburns, bug bites, minor cuts, and for smoothing hair and eyebrows.  It contains pawpaw fruit and aloe to promote healing.  I have been using it as a lip balm and have been impressed by it.  It would be amazing in the winter for my dry, cracked hands and chapped lips.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

I love NCLA's nail polish, so I was excited to see one of their products in this box.  Clean Up Your Act is a little pen of sorts that contains nail polish remover.  There's a disposable tip that you can use to clean up stray bits of nail polish surrounding your nails when you give yourself a manicure.  I can't give myself a neat manicure for the life of me, so I've been wanting to try a product like this after seeing something similar on Julep's site.  These little tips won't clean up a big mess and it won't take care of old, dried-on nail polish, but it'll help you get rid of a couple of stray marks.  NCLA recommends wiping the polish off of the tip to make each tip last longer.  The pen comes with three extra tips (four tips total), so you'll be able to use it multiple times.  It makes doing my nails so much easier!  I usually wait for my polish to dry then pick off the excess polish, but now I don't have to!  Some people are naturally talented at putting nail polish on, and, if you're one of those people, you won't need this.  If you're like me, though, you'll never want to do another manicure again without this!  

FullSizeRender.jpg

When I opened my Glossybox this month, all I could smell was coconut!  The Luseta Coconut Milk Shampoo and Conditioner have a pretty strong coconut scent, which I love.  It's the perfect summer scent.  Besides smelling amazing, these left my hair moisturized, looking shiny, and feeling extra soft!  At $14 for a full size, it's not cheap, but it's also far from expensive as far as shampoo and conditioner go.  It's worth the price!

FullSizeRender.jpg

I've tried a couple products from LaRoche-Posay's Toleriane line, but this is my first time trying their Hydrating Gentle Cleanser.  This is a cream cleanser that is very gentle and moisturizing, as you probably guessed from the name.  It's for normal to dry skin, so this is probably something that would be better for me in the winter.  My skin can be greasy in the summer and dry in the winter, so I don't really need a moisturizing cleanser right now.  I liked it, though, and will save it for when my skin starts to get dry again.

FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of Doucce Freematic Blush Mono in Summer Sunset 

Swatch of Doucce Freematic Blush Mono in Summer Sunset 

Finally, Glossybox sent a Doucce Z-palette and a blush.  Z-palettes are empty palettes with magnets in them.  You put whichever makeup pans you want into them to make your own custom palette.  They're great for travel!  Doucce makes a line of blush and eyeshadow that come in pans so that you can get one of their Z-palettes and put together your own palette.  Glossybox and Doucce made a special Glossybox-branded Z-palette for this box.  They included one blush, Summer Sunset, which is a beautiful matte pinky-peach that has excellent pigment and pretty good staying power.  I love the color!  It was very flattering on me.  Doucce is overdone in subscription boxes, so I am usually not that excited to see yet another one of their products, but I was impressed by this blush.  Glossybox is going to be sending another Doucce blush pan to subscribers in the August box to help you fill your Z-palette.  Subscribers can choose their color.  If you go to Glossybox's page and sign into your account, go to Surveys and you can choose either Pink Beach or Vintage Mauve.  They're both beautiful colors, so it's a hard choice!  If you don't want to decide, Glossybox will surprise you.  I'm not sure when the survey closes, so act quickly if you are a current subscriber and want to choose your August blush color.

This is the best Glossybox I've had in a very long time!  I loved every product!  If I had to choose favorites, it would be NCLA's Clean Up Your Act and the Doucce Z-palette and blush.  Glossybox has had some lackluster boxes in the past year, so I'm happy to see a box that reminds me of the old Glossybox.  I hope they keep it up!  

What did you think of the July Glossybox?  Did you get the same products?

DermStore BeautyFix Review, July 2017

DermStore BeautyFix, $24.95 per month (US only)

IMG_2315.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

This bun was feeling a little shy!

DermStore BeautyFix is a subscription box that sends subscribers $100+ worth of products each month.  All subscribers receive the same products with occasional scent or color variation.  Most months, you'll get multiple skincare products, a makeup product, a beauty tool, and sometimes a hair or nail product.  You'll get at least six products, sometimes as many as eleven.  BeautyFix is very heavy on skincare and is great for women who are 30+ and interested in fighting signs of aging.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what came in the July DermStore BeautyFix box:

My July box was worth about $108.90.  The size of the C E Ferulic was not listed, so I had to estimate the value.  This month, we got a beauty tool, one makeup product, one hair product, a bath product, and five skincare products.  The value is on the low side this month.  BeautyFix boxes are always worth at least $100 and this is just over the minimum value.  The samples are on the small side this month, too.

FullSizeRender.jpg

BeautyFix has been included Daily Concepts products a lot lately.  I like them a lot, so I'm okay with that!  The Your Facial Micro Scrubber is a cushion-y pad in a pocket.  You can put your fingers in the pocket to scrub your face.  One side is soft and one side is a little rougher to give you some exfoliation.  I prefer the softer side as the exfoliating side is a little on the rough side for me.  Like all Daily Concepts products, there's a suction cup so you can hang your scrubber up and there's also a tag that fades when the scrubber needs to be replaced.

FullSizeRender.jpg

The Peter Thomas Roth Cucumber Gel Mask is very moisturizing.  You apply the gel to your face and neck, allow to set for ten minutes, then rinse.  It's the perfect thing to use after a day in the sun!  Peter Thomas Roth suggests leaving it in the fridge to give you an extra cooling sensation.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

I've tried Vichy's Minéral 89 before and wasn't all that impressed.  I'm still not.  I like a good, lightweight moisturizer in the summer, but this is too lightweight even for me!  This contains mineralized thermal water and hyaluronic acid.  It's a very thin gel and it feels like I'm putting water on my face.  It didn't feel moisturizing to me.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

Glytone is a brand you'll see pretty often in BeautyFix. I was expecting the Exfoliating Body Wash to have some beads or grit for exfoliation, but the cream is very smooth and uses glycolic acid to exfoliate.  It has a light, beachy scent to it that I love.  This is supposed to be great for people with body acne and keratosis pilaris.  I don't have either of those problems, fortunately, but it still felt good on my skin.

FullSizeRender.jpg

I love Skin and Co. Roma's Truffle Therapy line!  I've tried the Eye Concentrate a number of times, but I'm always happy to get more.  The scent of the products in the line is amazing.  It's both moisturizing and anti-aging.  If you're in the market for a new eye cream, I recommend this.

FullSizeRender.jpg

SkinCeuticals is another brand you'll see often in BeautyFix boxes.  It's an expensive line, so the samples tend to be on the small side.  While they are of excellent quality, all the products I've tried of theirs smell terrible!  The C E Ferulic smells like something burnt.  I have to cover it up with a scented moisturizer immediately.  If you don't cover it up with another scent, the weird burnt smell will stick around for a while.  This is a daytime serum that contains ferulic acid and vitamins C and E.  It's brightening and anti-aging.  I've only used it for a limited time, but it seems to work well.  That said, I would never spend $165 on a serum that smelled so bad!  I wish SkinCeuticals found a way to give their products a better scent.

FullSizeRender.jpg

This is my second time getting Erno Laszlo's Light Controlling Lotion.  When I got it the first time, I initially thought it was supposed to be a very lightweight moisturizer as it's called a lotion.  It's actually a toner, though, so I really don't understand why they call it a lotion.  You use this after cleansing your face and it will get off any remaining dirt or makeup, brighten your skin, and fight signs of aging.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

SHOW Beauty's Finishing Spray gives you light hold, plus it protects your hair from sun, heat, and chemicals, and it moisturizes your hair.  I don't need hold, but I like that it moisturizes my hair and gives it a little shine.  This isn't a product that I need, so I don't imagine I will use it much.  It's supposed to be great for frizzy hair, so check this out if you have frizz.

FullSizeRender.jpg
Jane Iredale PurePressed Eye Shadow in Forest

Jane Iredale PurePressed Eye Shadow in Forest

Subscribers got the Jane Iredale PurePressed Eye Shadow in Forest, Mermaid, or Steamy.  I got Forest, a medium-deep green.  The pigment was okay, but not amazing.  It stayed on all day with my eyeshadow primer.  I don't wear green eyeshadow all that often, but I'll use it occasionally for a little different look.  I have green eyes, so the look can be quite dramatic.  While this isn't a color I would have chosen for myself, I'll use it.  The formula goes on smoothly and is easy to blend and work with.

This was an okay month for BeautyFix.  It wasn't my favorite month, but there were a few good products in there.  I liked the Daily Concepts scrubber, Peter Thomas Roth mask, Glytone body wash, Skin and Co. Roma eye cream, and Erno Laszlo toner.  The Vichy Minéral 89 is too light a moisturizer even for me.  The SkinCeuticals C E Ferulic seems to be an amazing product, but I can't get past the horrible smell.  I liked the Jane Iredale eyeshadow and thought the color was okay, but I would have preferred a different color.  The SHOW Beauty Finishing Spray was good, but not something I need.  

What did you think of the July BeautyFix box?

ipsy Review, July 2017

ipsy, $10 per month for US orders; add $4.95 shipping for Canadian orders

IMG_2413.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

This sweet baby bun thought the July ipsy bag was the perfect size to sit in!  

ipsy is a monthly beauty subscription that costs only $10 per month.  Subscribers receive five items each month plus a cute makeup bag.  ipsy customizes the products based on subscriber profiles, but they tend to be heavier on makeup than skincare.  You'll get a mix of both drugstore and higher end brands in an ipsy bag.  Most items are deluxe sample size and occasionally even full size. 

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what I got this month:

My July ipsy was worth $41.04.  That's on the lower side for ipsy, but not bad at all for a $10 subscription!  I got three makeup items and two skincare products this month.  

FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg

When I first saw the Gudetama bag design, I wasn't impressed.  When I saw the back, though, I loved it!  Gudetama has a little butt!  It's so cute.  You'll also notice that the zipper pull says "meh..."  If you're not familiar with Gudetama, it's a lazy egg.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

I like Caudalie products, so I was happy to see the Vinosource Moisturizing Sorbet in my ipsy bag!  Caudalie calls it a "gel-cream," which is pretty accurate -- it's a thin cream that turns into a gel when applied to your skin.  It's moisturizing, but not too thick and heavy, so it's perfect for summer.  The formula is anti-aging.  I love how this smells!  At $39, this isn't extraordinarily expensive for a moisturizer.  It's definitely worth it!

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of Ciaté Wonderwand Gel-Kohl Hybrid Eyeliner in Black

Swatch of Ciaté Wonderwand Gel-Kohl Hybrid Eyeliner in Black

More black eyeliner!  I can never go a month without black eyeliner, it seems.  The Ciaté Wonderwand Gel-Kohl Hybrid Eyeliner goes on smooth like a gel and is easy to handle like kohl.  One end of the pencil has a teeny brush so you can smudge your liner if you desire.  Once this is on, it's on for the day!  I was impressed with the formula, but I wish I had gotten a different color.  This reminds me a lot of my favorite eyeliner, Julep's When Pencil Met Gel.  

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of Seraphine Botanicals Lychee and Gold 

Swatch of Seraphine Botanicals Lychee and Gold 

I got the Seraphine Botanicals Happy Hibiscus Blush in my June 2016 ipsy and liked the formula. The dusty rose color was okay, but not my favorite. I like the Lychee and Gold Healthy Glow Rose-Gold Blush much more!  The color is more flattering on me.  It's a soft, rosy pink with a touch of gold.  It reminds me of a slightly pinker version of NARS Orgasm.  It was easy to work with, blended out well, and stayed on all day.

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of Winky Lux Double Matte Liquid Lipstick in Angel Food

Swatch of Winky Lux Double Matte Liquid Lipstick in Angel Food

I wish ipsy would stop sending me nude lipsticks!  The Winky Lux Double Matte Liquid Lipstick in Angel Food is a peachy nude.  It's just not a good color on me.  It's a shade peacher than my natural lip color and it ends up making me look a little washed out.  I couldn't bring myself to wear it out of the house.  Its staying power is okay, but not as good as many other liquid lipsticks I've tried.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Finally, we have the tarte cosmetics Rainforest of the Sea Deep Dive Cleansing Gel.  I love tarte, so I'm always happy to try a new tarte product!  This is a brightening facial cleanser that removes waterproof makeup.   It made my skin feel squeaky clean but not dried out.  This is the perfect cleanser for summer!

When I saw what I was getting in ipsy this month, I wasn't all that excited.  Now that I've tried everything, though, I'm happier with the products than I expected to be.  The only product that was a miss was the Winky Lux lipstick.  The color didn't work for me. The tarte cleanser and Caudalie moisturizer were my favorite products, but I liked the Seraphine Botanicals blush quite a bit, too.  The Ciaté eyeliner worked well, but I would have preferred a color other than black.  I was expecting to hate this month's bag, but Gudetama's little butt made me love it!  

What did you think of the July ipsy?  What products did you get?

Birchbox Review, July 2017

Birchbox, $10 per month (US only)

IMG_2310.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

I love this baby bun's ears!  She's such a talented young model.

Birchbox is one of the most popular beauty boxes.  At $10 per month, it's also one of the most affordable.  Subscribers receive five to six products each month.  Birchbox has you fill out a profile when you subscribe, which they supposedly use to choose the products for your box.  You usually get more skincare than makeup samples and the sample sizes tend to be on the small side.  Each month, Birchbox gives subscribers the option of choosing a product for the following month's box, choosing the curated box, or leaving everything to surprise.  They offer three to five different samples to choose from.  Sometimes the samples are the same type of product (e.g., different types of mascara or moisturizer), sometimes they are the same product in different colors, and sometimes the products are completely unrelated.  If you choose the curated box, you know exactly what you'll be getting, so there are no surprises with that one, but, if you like everything in that box, it's worth it.  I find that the curated boxes usually ship earlier in the month and often have high values. 

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what I got this month:

My July Birchbox was worth $25.24, which is pretty average for a Birchbox.  I got a full size product this month, which doesn't happen often!  I got a makeup product, two skincare items, a hair care product, and a perfume.  None of the product choice options appealed to me, so I left my entire box to chance this month.

FullSizeRender.jpg

First up, we have the Air Repair Complexion-Boosting Moisturizer.  It contains hyaluronic acid, antioxidants, panthenol, and heat shock proteins to keep your skin in top shape.  It absorbed quickly and moisturized my skin without making it feel greasy.  At $21 for a full size, it's affordable for a moisturizer!

FullSizeRender.jpg

I've tried a few R+Co. products, but this is my first time trying their Badlands Dry Shampoo Paste.  This is also my first time trying a dry shampoo paste.  I've tried many a dry shampoo spray and powder, but I didn't know pastes existed until I got this.  R+Co. says this will not only sop up excess oil from your hair, but it will also give you some texture, volume, and hold.  You rub a teeny bit between your fingers and then work it through your hair.  I found it did a pretty good job of making my hair look less greasy, but I didn't like how it felt in my hair.  I could feel the paste in my hair even a day later, despite the fact that I used very little and worked it into my hair well.  It did provide volume, hold, and texture, none of which I particularly wanted.  If you do want a dry shampoo that also helps you style your hair, then you'll love this.  Personally, though, if I want a dry shampoo, I just want a dry shampoo.  I'll stick to my powders and sprays.

FullSizeRender.jpg

I've tried the Michael Todd Charcoal Detox Deep Pore Gel Cleanser before and loved it, so I was happy to get another sample.  Charcoal cleansers help draw oil and impurities out of your pores, so they are perfect for when you are dealing with a breakout.  It also contains tea tree and aloe, making it amazing for your skin.  If your skin is prone to breakouts, this is definitely a cleanser you will want to try.

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of Beautaniq Beauty Blush Serum in Sunrise

Swatch of Beautaniq Beauty Blush Serum in Sunrise

I wasn't familiar with Beautaniq Beauty before getting it in my Birchbox this month.  Beautaniq's Blush Serum contains apricot oil and vitamin E, so it not only gives you a pretty pink flush, but it is also great for your skin!  This is a very thin liquid and a little bit goes a long way.  Apply a teeny bit to your cheeks and you'll have more than enough to blend it out and give you a pretty hint of color.  It says it can be used for lips, too, but it was a little too subtle for me.  I like it a lot as a blush, though!  

FullSizeRender.jpg

Cartier's Eau de Cartier Eau de Parfum has notes of vanilla, amber, violet, balsam, and citrus accord.  It's a unisex perfume and it has a much more subtle scent than most perfumes.  I thought I would hate it with the vanilla and balsam in it.  While I don't hate it, I also don't love it.  It's not really for me.

My July Birchbox was pretty good.  I loved the Michael Todd cleanser and quite liked the Air Repair moisturizer and Beautaniq Beauty Blush Serum.  The Eau de Cartier perfume wasn't the scent for me and I didn't like how the R+Co. BADLANDS Dry Shampoo Paste made my hair feel.  Three out of five isn't bad!

What did you get in your July Birchbox?  What did you think?

Goodbeing Review, July 2017

Goodbeing, $9.95-$24.95 per month (ships to US for free, and ships to Australia, Canada, the UK, Denmark, Finland, France, Norway, and Sweden for $6-$9 more)

IMG_2312.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

This sweet baby bun is so cute, sweet, fluffy, and soft.  She likes that Goodbeing never includes products that were tested on her cousins.

Goodbeing is a monthly natural beauty box.  Subscribers fill out extensive profiles upon subscribing.  There are some big changes coming for Goodbeing!  Instead of getting the box for $21.95, you can now choose the mini box for $9.95 (with two products) or the standard box (four to five items) for $24.95, and you can choose whether you want a beauty box or a lifestyle box.  If you have the standard box, you'll be able to choose one to two products a month, but you won't be able to with the mini box at this time. The one thing I find annoying about Goodbeing is that you get small product information cards for each product instead of one big card that has all the products on it.  They get lost easily.  I understand, though, that that helps make it so that Goodbeing can personalize boxes more easily, so I'm okay with it as I'd rather have a personalized box than one big card.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what I got this month:

My July Goodbeing was worth $60.55.  The value is excellent.  Four of the products were full size!  I got four skincare products, a body product, and a dental care product this month.  Goodbeing has been very light on the makeup lately.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

First up, we have the Mai Couture Vitamin C and E Revitalize Blotting Paper. I got Mai Couture's Bamboo Charcoal Blotting Paper in my Petit Vour box last month.  I love these blotting papers, so I was happy to get more.  The vitamins in this blotting paper are good for your skin.  You can blot your face with these papers before applying makeup or you can use it throughout the day to remove excess oil, even if you already have your makeup on.  Using these doesn't mess up your makeup!  If you are looking for a good blotting paper, I highly recommend Mai Couture.  

The product information card said that there would be a blush sample from Mai Couture to go with this product, but I did not get a blush sample.

FullSizeRender.jpg

This is my first time trying a C & Co. product.  Their Rosemary and Lavender Lotion Bar has a strong lavender scent to it.  It has a coconut oil base and also contains cocoa butter, beeswax, sunflower seed oil, and tocopherol for vitamin E, in addition to the rosemary and lavender oils.  Because it contains beeswax, it is not technically vegan.  The lotion is a stick that you push up from the bottom to apply to your skin.  You rub it on your skin and it doesn't really feel like much is getting on you.  A little goes a long way, though!  Even though I thought I had just a little bit on my hands, it was more than enough.  It was surprisingly non-greasy and absorbed quickly.  My hands didn't feel greasy or sticky at all after I rubbed it in.  Even though the scent is strong in the tube, it left just a light lavender scent to my hands.  Lavender isn't my favorite scent, but I didn't mind it.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

Rūtz Skincare is another company that is new to me!  Their In Your Face Spa-ahh Elixir Mist is not only a toner, but also a makeup setting spray.  It's supposed to fight acne by inhibiting the growth of bacteria, minimize oil production, reduce inflammation, and improve absorption of serums and moisturizers.  Rūtz says the product is infused with reiki energy, but I'm not quite sure what that means when it comes to skincare products.  This product also has a strong lavender scent.  I liked how it worked as a toner.  I haven't tried it out as a makeup setting spray.  I should note that this contains AHA (alpha hydroxy acid), which increases photosensitivity, so be sure to use sunblock if you are using this.  Rūtz included a teeny rose quartz stone with this product as a bonus.  Rūtz says it is a stone of unconditional love and that it "helps lower stress & increase love, self-love & compassion."  It's cute, but I'm not quite sure what I will do with it.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Ursa Major is a company I am quite familiar with.  I love their products!  I was a little surprised to see that Goodbeing included two Ursa Major products in my box this month.  The Face Balm is a very thin, lightweight moisturizer that feels more like a serum and absorbs very quickly.  This is the perfect summer moisturizer!  I never want thick, heavy moisturizers in the summer because my oil production goes into overdrive, so I'm always on the lookout for a good lightweight moisturizer.  This is another product in my Goodbeing box that has a strong lavender scent.  A few minutes after applying it, I couldn't detect the scent, so it goes away quickly.

FullSizeRender.jpg

The second Ursa Major product in the box was the Essential Face Wipe.  The wipes are made of bamboo fiber and are a little thick.  These wipes are supposed to cleanse, exfoliate, soothe, and hydrate.  They took my makeup off easily -- even the waterproof eye makeup!  I still washed my face after using these, but it removed the bulk of my makeup.  If you're camping or just dead tired and don't want to wash your face, you could use these alone without washing your face.  This is yet another product in the box that has a lavender scent! 

FullSizeRender.jpg

The final product in the box was the WooBamboo! Adult Bamboo Toothbrush.  Believe it or not, this was not lavender scented.  The handle is made of bamboo and has a light coating of Chinese white wax, both of which are supposed to have antibacterial properties.  The toothbrush isn't all that fancy, but it did the job.  

This is the best Goodbeing box I've gotten in months!  I liked everything in the box.  If I had to choose a favorite product, it would be the Mai Couture blotting papers, but the other products are also excellent.  I don't love lavender, so this box was a little heavy on the lavender for me.  Four of the six products were lavender scented!  I don't hate the scent, fortunately, but, if someone did, this box would be a complete miss for them.  I wish there had been at least one makeup product in the box.  Overall, though, I'm happy with my July Goodbeing.

Did anyone else get the July Goodbeing?  What did you think?

Kloverbox Review, July 2017

Kloverbox, $25 per month (US only)

IMG_2531.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

This sweetheart is so cute and photogenic!  It was a little sad when it realized there was no actual clover in the Kloverbox, though!

Kloverbox is a monthly beauty and lifestyle box that focuses on natural products made by small companies.  Each month, Kloverbox has a loose theme and sends subscribers a mix of four to six beauty products, home goods, cleaning products, and/or pieces of jewelry.  This is a great way to discover small businesses that you probably wouldn't encounter on your own.  All subscribers get the same products with occasional color and/or scent variations. 

Kloverbox sent me this box free of charge for review.  The link above is my affiliate link.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what was in the July Kloverbox:

The July box was worth $54.  That's more than double the price of the box, so I'm happy with the value.  We got a candle, a facial cleanser, and a shoe odor eliminator this month.  We usually get more than three products in a Kloverbox, but they were all full size and the value is good, so I'm okay with three.

FullSizeRender.jpg

First up, we have the Lilac and Willow Hand-Poured Soy Candle in Mosquit-No, which is, as you probably guessed, a candle that is supposed to keep mosquitoes away.  There are little dried flowers on top!  It's so cute.  I love getting candles in a subscription box.  This candle has cinnamon, lavender, and lemon eucalyptus essential oils in it.  It smells great!  I haven't used this outside yet, so I don't know how well it keeps the mosquitoes away.  Once the wax is warmed up, you can even use it as a moisturizer for elbows, knees, or wherever else your skin is particularly dry.  You could also use it as a massage oil.

FullSizeRender.jpg

I've tried a couple of Gaffer and Child's products before, but this is my first time trying their Facial Cleanser.  This contains lavender, lemon, and peppermint essential oils, so it smells great.  It is not only cleansing, but also moisturizing, which can be hard to find in a cleanser!  The cleanser is thin, clear, and lightweight, so I was worried at first that I wasn't using enough.  You really only need a couple of pumps, though, and it will lather up and be more than enough to clean your face thoroughly.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

A shoe odor eliminator is the perfect product for a summer box!  I've never gotten one in a box before.  Solefog's Odor Eliminator in Fresh Scent breaks down bacteria and has a soft scent to leave your shoes smelling fresh and clean.  You'll want to use this in a well-ventilated area and be sure not to breathe it in.  You squirt a short burst of the odor eliminator into each shoe and then let it set for several hours.  I was impressed by how well it worked!  It didn't just cover up the scent, but it got rid of it entirely.  Nothing's worse than trying to cover up a bad scent with a good scent because all it does it blend the two scents together, so I was happy that this killed the scent instead of trying to mask it.

The July Kloverbox was fabulous!  I liked all three products in the box.  I don't even think I can choose a favorite item of the three as they are all amazing.  I loved that the Gaffer and Child Facial Cleanser was both moisturizing and cleansing.  The candle was pretty and smelled great.  I loved that Kloverbox found something a little different and included a shoe odor eliminator.  That's something I've never seen in a subscription box before.  

Did anyone else get the July Kloverbox?  What did you think?

 

Allure Beauty Box Review, June 2017

Allure Beauty Box, $15 per month (Continental US only)

IMG_1986.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

This cute baby bun is one of the most photogenic I've worked with!  It's a natural model!  

Allure Beauty Box is curated by the editors of Allure.  Each month, you get at least five beauty products that the Allure editors have chosen for the box.  There is a mix of full size, deluxe sample size, and small sample size products.  They always include makeup and skincare products, and generally there is at least one hair product per box.  If you're new to beauty boxes and want to get a good idea of the products and brands available, Allure is a good place to start.  If you are a beauty box veteran, though, you're likely to get a lot of products you've gotten multiple times in other boxes.  The value of the box is usually high.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what came in the June Allure Beauty Box:

The June box was worth $75.68.  I'm happy with the value.  We got three skincare products, one makeup item, a nail polish, and a hair care product.  It was a little light on the makeup, especially considering the one makeup item was a primer.

I stopped subscribing to Allure after last October, but they sent me an offer saying that they would send me a full size Marc Jacobs mascara and eyeliner if I resubscribed and also gave me a $5 off coupon, so I decided to give them a try again.  I resubscribed at the very end of June, so I am just now getting the June box.  Watch for the review of the July box later in the month!  I hope the mascara and eyeliner come in the July box.  I was surprised it wasn't in the June box.

FullSizeRender.jpg

I love Tata Harper's Resurfacing Mask, so I'm always happy to get another sample!  To use it, you apply a thick layer to your face, allow it to set for 15-30 minutes, then rinse.  This leaves my skin so smooth, soft, and radiant.  A full size is $58, so it's not cheap, but I highly recommend it if you are looking to have smoother and brighter skin.

FullSizeRender.jpg

I've heard a lot of good things about Yves Saint Laurent's Touche Éclat Blur Primer, but I never had a chance to try it before now.  I love this stuff!  Usually, I hate silicone-based primers as they feel like they are just floating on my skin and feel gross and thick, but this is completely different.  It blended into my skin and I couldn't feel it on my skin once it was applied.  It is hard to see in the picture above, but it has teeny gold flakes in it to give you some added radiance.  It blurred imperfections and gave me the perfect base for my makeup.  My makeup held up all day with this on.  $52 is a lot for a primer, but it just might be worth it for this one!  I hope I get more of this in another subscription so I don't have to go out and buy it.

FullSizeRender.jpg

I've gotten Deco Miami's nail polish several times before and love the formula.  Unfortunately, this is the third time I've gotten this same color!  Feeling Fuego is a beautiful, bright coral that is perfect for the summer, but I wish I had gotten a different color.  The formula is smooth, dries relatively quickly, and stays chip-free for several days, which is good for me.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

I'm not all that into self-tanning, but I decided to give the St. Tropez Self Tan Express Bronzing Face Sheet Mask a try.  It is a sheet mask that is both moisturizing and tanning.  You leave it on five minutes for a light tan, ten minutes for a medium tan, and fifteen minutes for a deep tan.  After you remove it, you rub the remainder of the liquid into your skin.  No rinsing is required!  I went for a medium tan just because I didn't want my face to be a very different color from my neck.  It was lighter than I expected, but it was still there.  I liked that it was subtle.  It had a bit of that self-tanner smell, but it wasn't too strong.  At $9, this isn't a cheap face mask, but, if you need a quick face tan, it's worth it.

FullSizeRender.jpg

I have short hair, don't use hairspray, and don't have a problem with frizz, so the John Frieda Frizz Ease Keraflex Flexible Hold Hairspray was a miss for me.  It didn't have a scent to it and, when I tried it out just so I could give you a review of it, I noticed it had some hold but it didn't make my hair stiff and sticky like a lot of hairspray.

FullSizeRender.jpg

The final product was the Juice Beauty Stem Cellular Anti-Wrinkle Booster Serum.  Juice Beauty isn't my favorite company and it's definitely overdone in subscription boxes.  The serum is okay.  It doesn't have that horrible green apple scent many of their products do.  I'd have to use it for a longer period of time to see anti-aging effects.  It's moisturizing and absorbs quickly.

This wasn't my favorite Allure box ever, but I'm glad I got it as I loved the Yves Saint Laurent Touche Éclat Blur Primer so much!  The Tata Harper Resurfacing Mask is also amazing.  The St. Tropez mask and the John Frieda hairspray were good, but not really things I need.  I love Deco Miami nail polish.  It would have been nice to get a new color, though. The Juice Beauty serum is okay, but I've gotten it a million times before and am a little tired of seeing it in my boxes.  

Did anyone else get the June Allure box?  If so, what did you think?

Mommy Mailbox Review, July 2017

Mommy Mailbox, $33.95 per month (free shipping to US; add $10.50 for shipping to Canada)

IMG_1988.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

I had to use the same bunny picture for Mommy  Mailbox as last month.  The box this month was long and skinny so that the products would fit.  The box shape wasn't ideal for bunny pics, so I recycled a picture.  You should see how big this little one is now!

Mommy Mailbox is a monthly box of beauty products, home goods, and snacks.  Don't let the name scare you away -- this isn't just for moms!  The box reminds me a little bit of PopSugar in that it's more of a lifestyle box than a beauty box.  Each month, Mommy Mailbox has a different mom blogger curate the box.  All subscribers receive the same products

Mommy Mailbox sent me this box free of charge for review.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what came in the July Mommy Mailbox:

The July Mommy Mailbox was worth about $77.33.  I had to estimate the value of the Beach Towel Roundie as it was an exclusive made for Mommy Mailbox.  The curator of this month's box was none other than Kate Gray, the woman who runs Mommy Mailbox!  It is Kate's 10 year wedding anniversary and she wanted to celebrate.  Instead of going on a trip, she is having a staycation so she can "Relax," which is the July theme. The products she chose for this month's box are some of her favorites.  Happy 10th anniversary, Kate!

FullSizeRender.jpg

First up, we have the Beach Towel Roundie, which was made exclusively for Mommy Mailbox!  I love beach roundies, so I am happy to have another.  It's very soft.  If you got a roundie in the spring FabFitFun box, this roundie is softer, thicker, and more absorbent than those.  I'm a little worried about the white fabric getting stained, but it's washable.  The design is really cute!  I can't wait to use it on my next beach day.  If you don't get to the beach often, you could use this for a picnic or throw it on a small table or on the back of your couch.

FullSizeRender.jpg

I've tried a couple of Sarah's Sweet Scrubs products, but this is my first time trying the Room and Body Spray.  The scent, Hawaii Morning, is a mix of essential oils of pineapple, mango, and lilikoi (a.k.a. yellow passionfruit). You can use this to freshen up your room, car, or linens, or on your body.  It's a soft, tropical, fruity scent.  I love the scent, but this is something that I would use for a room or car and not my body.  The fragrance is long-lasting.  It's the perfect summer scent!

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of Lord and Berry Skin Lip Gloss in Sweet Florida

Swatch of Lord and Berry Skin Lip Gloss in Sweet Florida

I didn't realize Lord and Berry was an Italian cosmetics company!  I'm familiar with Lord and Berry, but, with a name like that, I assumed it was British.  We got two Lord and Berry products this month.  The first, the Skin Lip Gloss in Sweet Florida, is very sheer and sparkly.  I couldn't quite capture it in the swatch photo above.  You can't tell it in the picture at all, but it is a very soft pink and there's a lot of glitter in it.  If you want a little sparkle but don't want to go all out with the makeup, this is perfect.  I'm not usually a lip gloss person, but this isn't as sticky as most glosses.  I prefer bolder colors, but I could see using this for a day at the beach.

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of Lord and Berry Seta Eyeshadow in Ultramarine

Swatch of Lord and Berry Seta Eyeshadow in Ultramarine

The second Lord and Berry product was the Seta Eyeshadow in Ultramarine.  I didn't see this particular color on the Lord and Berry website, so I'm not sure if it was made exclusively for Mommy Mailbox or if they are just out of stuck..The formula is a powder, but it is so soft and goes on so smoothly, it almost feels like a cream.  The pigment is pretty good and it will hold up all day if you use a primer.  The color is very bright, so it's not going to be an everyday color for me, but I could see using it occasionally.

FullSizeRender.jpg

The snack this month is Knoppers Milk Hazelnut Wafer.  This is a European treat, but you can get it on Amazon if you are in the US.  It has layers of wafer, chocolate, and hazelnut.  It melted a bit in shipping, but it still tasted amazing.  Hazelnuts and chocolate are delicious together, so I knew I was going to love it and I was right.  I wish this was easier to get in the US!

Kate put together an amazing Mommy Mailbox this month!  I loved the roundie, Knoppers, and room spray!  The makeup was nice, but the colors weren't what I usually go for.  Overall, I'm very happy with this month's box.

Did anyone else get Mommy Mailbox this month?  If so, what did you think?