FabFitFun Review, Spring 2017

FabFitFun, $49.99 per quarter (free shipping to continental US; add $8 shipping for Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, and Canada)

IMG_5029.JPG
IMG_5014.JPG

Emmett was a little cranky and didn't feel like modeling.  Fortunately, he let me get a few pictures.  He's just the cutest.  I wish he had let me get his eyes in the picture.

FabFitFun is a quarterly lifestyle box that sends subscribers a mix of beauty products, jewelry, accessories, fitness products, and home goods.  All subscribers receive the same products with some color and/or scent variations.  If you're a yearly subscriber, FabFitFun allows you to choose the variations you would like.  The box always has a value of $200+.  FFF also has a charity they partner with each quarter.  This quarter's was More Than Me, which is an organization that helps Liberian girls get an education.  Usually they have a product in the box that is linked to the charity, but they didn't this quarter.  

IMG_4820.JPG

Here's what we got this quarter:

My Spring FabFitFun box was worth $458.75!  The boxes were supposed to come with either the Luv AJ earrings or the Emerald Duv bracelet, but FabFitFun allowed subscribers to get both if they paid an extra $10.  I decided to pay the $10 so I could have both.  If you didn't get both, the box was worth $378.75 if you got the earrings or $373.75 if you got the bracelet.  We definitely got out money's worth!  FabFitFun is offering subscribers access to FabFitFun TV, which has exercise videos, but I didn't include that in the value as I'm not sure how much it's worth.  This quarter, we got one to two jewelry pieces, five beauty products, an accessory, one home item, a vitamin, and then the fitness videos.  It was a little heavy on beauty, but I don't mind that at all.  FabFitFun featured seven brands that were founded by women in this box, which I love.  This quarter's charity was More Than Me, which is an organization that helps Liberian girls get an education.  Usually they have a product in the box that is linked to the charity, but they didn't this quarter.  

IMG_4831.JPG

Subscribers received one of four MILLY Zip Pouches  -- white Slay All Day, pink Haute Mess, blue Beach Please, and green Resting Beach Face.  These are waterproof and perfect for holding your bikini.  While annual subscribers can pick most of their variations, this was one product that you couldn't pick which one you wanted.  Everyone was surprised.  I thought they were all cute, so I didn't care which one I got, although I wish Slay All Day were pink instead of white.  White is kind of plain and I know I will get it dirty, especially at the beach.  It's well made and is bigger than I expected.  It would also make a great travel bag for toiletries that could leak.  It looks like these styles were made exclusively for FabFitFun as MILLY has similar products but not the exact same bags available on their site.  I wouldn't pay $45 for one of these, but I'm happy to have it.

IMG_4871.JPG
IMG_4876.JPG

FabFitFun did something a little different this quarter.  As I said above, annual subscribers are able to choose a couple of their variations each quarter, but those who subscribe by the quarter are not.  For the Spring 2017 box, though, FabFitFun offered both quarter-to-quarter and annual subscribers a choice between the Emerald Duv cuff and the Luv AJ earrings.  They didn't show you pictures, just told you that you could choose between an Emerald Duv cage bracelet made of gold-plated brass and worth $80 or a Luv AJ earring set with rose gold climbers and studs with stones and worth $85.  I love that they did that.  They gave you enough information that you could have a general idea of which one would be your style, but still gave you a bit of a surprise.  Of course, anyone who was motivated enough could figure out which products they were talking about by looking through the products on the Emerald Duv and Luv AJ websites.  Not everyone has pierced ears, so that was smart of them to allow all subscribers, not just annual members, to choose.  FabFitFun allowed subscribers to get both pieces for an extra $10 for a limited time (offer no longer available), so I couldn't pass that up!

Okay, now to actually review the Emerald Duv Joshua Tree Cage Bracelet!  This definitely wasn't a bracelet I would have chosen for myself as it is a little on the plain side, but it has grown on me.  The back side has a gap between the two sides that allows you to slip it on your wrist.  If you have bigger wrists, sadly, this might not work for you.  It's simple and classic and could work for a casual outing or something a little fancier.  It's very versatile.  

IMG_4844.JPG

The second piece of jewelry was the Luv AJ Diamond Kite Crawler and Stud Set in Rose Gold.  It is made of rose gold-plated brass.  I prefer rose gold and gold to silver, but I'm surprised that they didn't have a silver option.  These earrings have Swarovski crystals on them.  The studs are small and go through your piercings.  The crawlers have a little bar that hooks onto your ear, so you could wear them without the studs if you don't have pierced ears.  These aren't my usual style, but I like them.  I have nothing similar!  Both of the jewelry pieces pushed me out of my comfort zone a bit, but I ended up loving them.

IMG_4907.JPG
IMG_4908.JPG

My favorite product is the Gypsy05 Roundie!  There were three styles -- Warm Geometrical, Yellow Paisley, Blue Tie Dye -- and annual subscribers were able to choose which one they wanted.  The roundies were made exclusively for FabFitFun.  These are thin cotton blankets that can be used for the beach or picnic, or it can be used as a tapestry or draped over furniture. FabFitFun even says you can use them as a shawl, but I think that would look a little weird.  These things are huge!  I really wanted the Warm Geometrical print, so I was a little disappointed that I got Yellow Paisley, but it's grown on me.  It's a cute pattern.  I hated the Blue Tie Dye, so I was very happy I didn't get that one.  I'm just not a tie dye person.  I will probably hang this on the wall or put it on the back of the couch.

IMG_4864.JPG
Swatches of Deborah Lippman Like a Virgin (left) and Shape of My Heart (right)

Swatches of Deborah Lippman Like a Virgin (left) and Shape of My Heart (right)

I've gotten Deborah Lippmann nail polish in boxes before and I wasn't all that impressed.  The color went on kind of streaky for me.  I was hoping maybe it was just the color I was using, but it happened again with the nail polish in this set.  The white one above, Like a Virgin, i somewhat sheer.  The pink polish, Shape of My Heart, is supposed to be a creme and not sheer, but even that was a little on the sheer side.  I had to do four coats to get the coverage you see above.  It was just so streaky and it was hard to get an even coat.  I know a lot of people love Deborah Lippmann nail polish, so I can't help but wonder if I am somehow doing something wrong.  Has anyone had better luck with Deborah Lippmann nail polish?

IMG_4839.JPG

I've tried Karuna's hand mask before, but this is my first time getting a facial sheet mask from them.  Karuna makes masks that are a little on the pricey side -- this box of four costs $28!  The Hydrating+ mask is, as you might have guessed, moisturizing.  The masks themselves are made from wood pulp, so they are on the thick side, which makes them easier to use than the cheap, extra thin ones that are almost impossible to open up.  I found that the mask fit my face well and didn't need to be constantly adjusted as some sheet masks do.  The mask contains hyaluronic acid, peptides, aloe vera, chamomile, Chinese licorice, and vitamin B.  You let it set on your face for ten to twenty minutes, then remove and rub the remaining liquid into your face and neck.  This gave me lots of moisture, but I wish these had come in the winter box instead of the spring box as winter is when my skin needs the hydration the most. 

IMG_4877.JPG
Swatches of RealHer I Am Fabulous Lip Kit in Deep Red, left to right: Matte Liquid Lipstick in I Am Tough Royal Red (True Red), Lip Plumping Lip Gloss in I Am a Fighter, and Lip Liner in Be Yourself Be RealHer

Swatches of RealHer I Am Fabulous Lip Kit in Deep Red, left to right: Matte Liquid Lipstick in I Am Tough Royal Red (True Red), Lip Plumping Lip Gloss in I Am a Fighter, and Lip Liner in Be Yourself Be RealHer

The RealHer Lip Kit came in three shades -- I Am Fabulous (Deep Red), I Am Awesome (Deep Nude), and Women Rule the World (Pink). Annual subscribers were able to choose their color.  I was happy that I got the red.  I definitely didn't want the nude.  Part of me hoped to get the pink, though.  I prefer red lipstick, but that also means that I have a lot more reds than I do pinks, so getting a pink kit would have been nice.  The kit comes with a matte liquid lipstick, a plumping gloss, and a liner.  As you can see in the swatches above, they all have amazing pigment.  The lip liner and liquid lipstick had impressive staying power and looked great on me.  I didn't really notice a plumping effect from the gloss and it didn't stay on all that long, but it didn't have that gross, sticky feeling a lot of glosses have.  I'll be using the liner and liquid lipstick regularly.

IMG_4852.JPG

Getting a full size Dr. Brandt Microdermabrasion Age Defying Exfoliator (worth $79!) is a treat!  I've gotten teeny samples of this product several times before.  Lactic acid and aluminum oxide work together to gently exfoliate the skin and ward off signs of aging.  It also contains chamomile, jojoba, and aloe vera to protect and soothe skin.  This is one of my favorite exfoliators.  You apply a bit to your face, rub it in, and then rinse.  It's expensive, but it's worth it.

IMG_4856.JPG

While I've gotten the Briogeo Don't Despair, Repair! mask more times than I can count, I think this is my first time getting the Briogeo Rosarco Milk Reparative Leave-in Conditioning Spray.  To use this,  you spray it in damp hair, and it is supposed to moisturize, strengthen, and protect your hair.  My hair has been on the dry side lately, so I needed this!  This left my hair looking shinier, and feeling softer and less dry, so I'm quite impressed by it.  If your hair could use some love, I'd recommend giving this a try!

IMG_4868.JPG

The sponsored extra product this month was the Nature's Bounty Hair, Skin, and Nails Gummies.  This contains biotin and vitamins C and E.  They are strawberry flavored and taste okay, but not great.  I wish they made orange ones as orange gummies have always been my favorite.  I haven't used these long enough to see a difference, but a little extra biotin and vitamins can't hurt.

IMG_4887.JPG

Finally, for the Fit part of the name, FabFitFun has started FabFitFun TV, which is for subscribers only and has workout videos online.  I'm bad and pretty much never work out, so I don't imagine I will be using this.

I'm loving my Spring FabFitFun!  They always put out such a fun box.  I stayed away from the subscription for a while because the "fit" part of the name kind of scared me away as fitness isn't really an interest of mine, but that is a small component of the box.  The versatile roundie is definitely my favorite item in the box, but I loved everything except the Deborah Lippmann nail polish.  The vitamins and FabFitFun TV weren't my favorites, but one is a sponsored extra and the other just feels like an extra also, so I don't really count them.  The jewelry took me out of my comfort zone a bit, but I like both pieces.  The Karuna masks, Dr. Brandt product, RealHer lip kit, and Briogeo leave-in conditioner were all fabulous beauty products.  I wish I had gotten one of the other MILLY bags just because I'm not loving the white color, but I still like the bag.  FabFitFun really hit it out of the park this quarter.  I'm excited to see what will be in the summer box!

What did you think of the Spring 2017 box?  Which variations did you get?  Did you love everything as much as I did?

Petit Vour Review, March 2017

Petit Vour, $15 per month for US orders, $23 per month for Canadian orders, $25 per month for other international orders

IMG_4963.JPG
IMG_4954.JPG

Petit Vour is a vegan, cruelty-free beauty box.  Each month, subscribers get four sample size products.  They are often heavier on skincare than makeup, but there is always a mix.  Oftentimes, subscribers get the same products with some scent or color variation, but Petit Vour has had some box variations recently.  You can e-mail them to get a profile to fill out if you subscribe so that they can better customize your boxes. 

Petit Vour sent me this box free of charge for review.  The link above is my affiliate link.

IMG_4778.JPG

Here's what came in my March Petit Vour:

My Petit Vour was worth $42.50, which is pretty average for Petit Vour.  At almost three times the price of the box, I'm happy with the value.  We got three skincare products plus one makeup item.  Petit Vour tends to be heavier on skincare than makeup, so this is an average mix for Petit Vour.

IMG_4749.JPG
Swatch of Kani Botanicals Galaxy Milk Illuminating Beauty Oil

Swatch of Kani Botanicals Galaxy Milk Illuminating Beauty Oil

First up is the one makeup item this month, the Kani Botanicals Galaxy Milk Illuminating Beauty Oil.  March seems to be the month of the highlighter!  I think I've gotten highlighters in most of my beauty boxes this month.  This has a floral scent to it that I love, but it goes away after it's applied.  You shake it and use a dropper to apply the liquid to wherever you need some highlight.  A little goes a long way, so don't overdo it!  It gave me a soft, subtle highlight that was iridescent but not glittery.  If you want an allover glow, you can mix this in with your foundation or moisturizer.  I think this is my favorite highlighter of the many I've sampled this month!

IMG_4741.JPG

Metta Skincare's Intensive Replenishing Face Balm is made with shea butter and plant oils and is supposed to hydrate, fight signs of aging, and improve radiance.  It smells quite strongly of lavender.  This is a very thick moisturizer, but it warms up and softens if you rub it in your hands.  It feels a little oily at first, but it absorbs quickly.  This is recommended for people with dry and/or mature skin, so it isn't ideal for someone who has combination/oily skin like me.  I still liked it, though.  It would be perfect for the middle of the winter when my skin dries out more.

IMG_4745.JPG

The Little Barn Apothecary Blue Yarrow and Geranium Cleansing Oil wasn't for me.  I know some people love oil cleansing, but it is not my favorite.  To use this, you apply a few pumps to your face, massage for a minute, place a warm washcloth over your face for a minute, then wipe off the oil without scrubbing.  You can rinse if you want to, but they recommend not rinsing and allowing the oils to sink into your skin.  This removes my makeup well, but it doesn't feel good on my already oily face.  It took a lot of work to get it all off.  If you have dry skin, this would probably be amazing.

IMG_4753.JPG

Finally, we have the Formulary 55 Rosehip and Clay Facial Mask.  This is a powder mask that you mix with water to make a paste.  You can apply it to your skin and allow it to set 10 to 15 minutes before rinsing, or you can apply it and then massage your face for several minutes if you need exfoliation.  It contains only a few ingredients (French white and pink clay, rosehip powder, ground comfrey root, and organic rose geranium essential oil) and smells of roses.  I tried the mask both ways and found it made my skin extra soft.  It is also supposed to draw out toxins.  I highly recommend this mask.

This was a pretty good month for Petit Vour!  I loved the Kani Botanicals Galaxy Milk Illuminating Beauty Oil and the Formulary 55 Rosehip and Clay Facial Mask.  While the Little Barn Apothecary cleansing oil and Metta face balm were great products, they would have been better suited to someone with dry skin.  All the products were new to me, though, and I enjoyed trying them.

What did you think of the March Petit Vour?  Did everyone get the same products this month?

Play! by Sephora Review, March 2017

Play! by Sephora, $10 per month (US only)

IMG_4666.JPG
IMG_4635.JPG

Could Apple be any cuter?  I love her baby bunny side-eye.  

Play! is Sephora's monthly beauty box.  At $10 per month, it is very affordable.  All of the products can be found at your local Sephora, so, if you really like something, it's easy to get more.  Each month, subscribers receive a makeup bag, a mix of five makeup, skincare, and hair care products, plus one perfume sample.  Sephora customizes the boxes somewhat based on profiles you fill out upon subscribing.  You also receive a card that will get you fifty extra Beauty Insider points with any purchase at a Sephora and an invitation to a Play Date, which is an event held at select Sephoras for subscribers to go and learn more about the products in that month's box.  Unfortunately, there are very few stores that have the Play Date, so you may not have one in your area.  There is a waiting list for this subscription, but they open it up every month or two.

IMG_4533.JPG

Here's what I got this month:

My March Play! was worth $54.64,which isn't bad at all for a $10 box.  This month's theme was The Gleam Team.  Most months, all subscribers get a few of the same items and then there are a few variations.  This month, though, the only product that all subscribers received was the GLAMGLOW GLOWSTARTER.  I got one hair product, one perfume, three makeup items, and a skincare/makeup item.  It was definitely heavy on the makeup, but that is pretty common for this subscription.  

IMG_4528.JPG

I was happy that Sephora was getting away from the plain white cotton bag and having different colors and fabrics for the bags, but they're back to the plain white cotton this month.  This material gets stained so easily, so it's a horrible choice for a makeup bag. 

IMG_4562.JPG
Swatch of GLAMGLOW GLOWSTARTER Mega Illuminating Moisturizer in Nude Glow

Swatch of GLAMGLOW GLOWSTARTER Mega Illuminating Moisturizer in Nude Glow

The only product all subscribers received this month was the GLAMGLOW GLOWSTARTER Mega Illuminating Moisturizer in Nude Glow.  This is a moisturizer that blurs imperfections and makes skin more radiant looking.  If you have good skin, you could use this alone and skip the foundation.  This made my skin glow, but it was hard to see the effects under my foundation.  It was very hydrating.  It has a sweet smell to it that I didn't mind, but I didn't love it either.  The scent is quite strong, so if you are sensitive to scents, this probably won't be for you.

IMG_4539.JPG

I got another volumizer, which is the last thing my hair needs.  The Living Proof Full Dry Volume Blast is a volumizing spray that has a sweet floral fragrance to it.  I quite like the scent, but it is rather strong.  I tried this and found that it gave me some volume, but not tons, and it held up all day.  If you need a volumizer, this is a good choice.

IMG_4555.JPG
Swatch of Benefit Cosmetics Watt's Up! Cream-to-Powder Highlighter

Swatch of Benefit Cosmetics Watt's Up! Cream-to-Powder Highlighter

Benefit Cosmetics' Watt's Up! is a highlighter that has been around for years, so I was a little surprised to see it in my Play! box.  It is a good product, but Sephora usually includes products that are a little newer to the market.  This is a cream stick highlighter that turns to powder after you apply it.  You can use a light hand for a subtle look or build it up some for a more dramatic look.  I like the formula a lot, so I'm always happy to get another sample of it.

IMG_4544.JPG
Swatch of Make Up For Ever Artist Shadow in I-544 Pink Granite

Swatch of Make Up For Ever Artist Shadow in I-544 Pink Granite

I'm a little annoyed with Sephora for including this next sample.  We got the Make Up For Ever Artist Shadow in I-544 Pink Granite in the August box, so I can't believe they would include the exact same sample again.  They should have chosen a different type of eyeshadow entirely, or at least a different color of this same type of eyeshadow.  The color is pretty enough, but it is more of a warm tan than a pink granite.  The formula goes on easily, has minimal fallout, and looks as good at the end of the day as it does at the beginning.  The pigment is okay, but not great.  I had to build it up quite a bit to get the color you see above.

IMG_4569.JPG
Swatch of Algenist REVEAL Concentrated Luminizing Drops

Swatch of Algenist REVEAL Concentrated Luminizing Drops

I know The Gleam Team is this month's theme, but two highlighters in one box is a little excessive.  Sephora seems to love putting highlighters in Play!  Algenist's REVEAL Concentrated Luminizing Drops can be used on their own as a highlighter or you can mix a little into your moisturizer or foundation for some all over radiance.  A little goes a long way with this, so start out with a teeny bit and build your way up.  This gave me a soft, pretty highlight and was easy to blend out.  I tried it in my foundation and it gave me a very subtle glow.  Play! subscribers received the color Pearl, which gives you a silver glow, but Algenist also makes Champagne, which gives you a gold glow, and Rosé, which gives you a pink glow.  Champagne would have been my choice, but I was okay with the Pearl.  

IMG_4541.JPG

This month's perfume sample was Atelier's Clémentine California Cologne Absolue.  I have liked most Atelier perfumes I've tried, so I was happy to get one of their newest fragrances.  Clémentine California has notes of clementine, mandarin, juniper berries, star anise, Sichuan pepper, basilica, vetiver, sandalwood, and cypress.  This reminds me a bit of Liz Claiborne's Mambo from the early 2000s.  I love the fresh citrus scent.  Unfortunately, this wore off by the middle of the day.  I expect better staying power from an expensive perfume.  I really like this, though, so I kind of want to buy it.  

This was a pretty good Play! by Sephora box.  The Living Proof volumizer was a miss for me, but that's just because I have thick hair and don't need more volume.  The Make Up For Ever eyeshadow was nice, but I'm annoyed with Sephora for including the same item in the same color that they had back in August.  I was very happy with the GLAMGLOW GLOWSTARTER, the Benefit Watt's Up!, the Algenist REVEAL, and the Atelier Clémentine California.  I liked two-thirds of the products, so that's not bad.  If I had to choose a favorite, it would be the Atelier perfume.

What did you think of this month's Play! by Sephora?  Did you get the same products or did you get one of the other variations?

Birchbox Review, March 2017

Birchbox, $10 per month (US only)

IMG_4664.JPG
IMG_4656.JPG

Little Miss Apple isn't so sure about modeling.  She doesn't really like to hold still.  Fortunately, she was nice enough to hold still for half a second so I could get this picture of her in this month's Birchbox!  Check out last month's Birchbox review to see how much this little girl has grown!

Birchbox is one of the most popular beauty boxes.  At $10 per month, it's also one of the most affordable.  Subscribers receive five to six products each month.  Birchbox has you fill out a profile when you subscribe, which they supposedly use to choose the products for your box.  You usually get more skincare than makeup samples and the sample sizes tend to be on the small side.  Each month, Birchbox gives subscribers the option of choosing a product for the following month's box, choosing the curated box, or leaving everything to surprise.  They offer three to five different samples to choose from and sometimes the samples are the same type of product (e.g., different types of mascara or moisturizer), sometimes they are the same product in different colors, and sometimes the products are completely unrelated.  If you choose the curated box, you know exactly what you'll be getting, so there are no surprises with that one, but, if you like everything in that box, it's worth it.  I find that the curated boxes usually ship earlier in the month and often have high values. 

IMG_4406.JPG

Here's what I got this month:

My March Birchbox was worth about $34.84.  The size of the Beauty Protector product wasn't listed on the bottle, so I had to guess on the value of that.  Also, the ARROW brightener normally comes as a pencil that has a brightener on one end and black eyeliner on the other end. The sample I received had only the eye brightener, but the size listed for my sample, 0.28 oz, is bigger than the total size listed for the eyeliner/brightener, 0.2 oz., so I wasn't really sure if the listing was incorrect for the full size product.  I had no interest in the curated box this month, so I chose the ARROW ENHANCE Waterproof Eyeliner and Brightener as my sample.  I got two hair products, two makeup products, and one skincare product this month, so the mix was a little unusual for Birchbox as they tend to be heavier on skincare and I don't often see more than one hair product in a box.

IMG_4425.JPG

Volumizer, as you know if you've read my past reviews, is the last thing my hair needs.  Getting products like this is what makes me think that Birchbox pays no attention whatsoever to profiles.  Like all Beauty Protector products, this smells really good, so it has that going for it.  I tried this out just to review it and I saw some added volume, but not tons, so I didn't mind it.  Besides volume, this also provides your hair with protection from heat styling.  If you want a little extra volume and some great smelling hair, I recommend giving this a try.

IMG_4428.JPG
Swatch of ARROW ENHANCE Waterproof Brightener

Swatch of ARROW ENHANCE Waterproof Brightener

The ARROW ENHANCE Waterproof Eyeliner and Brightener was my product choice for March.  ARROW is Birchbox's new house brand and I like their mascara a lot, so I was excited to try another product from them.  The full size version of this is double ended and has a black liner on one end and the brightener on the other, but the sample included only the brightener.  This is very pink and I wish it was slightly more neutral.  I liked how this looked when I applied it to the inner corners of my eyes.  I used this on my waterline and found it didn't go on quite as smoothly there.  You could see teeny "crumbs" that it left behind.  Also, it was difficult to get it just right -- it was easy to go too light and not see any difference or go too hard and have it look very weird and fake.  After a little practice, I was able to get it down and have it look natural.  This is a good product, but not amazing.

IMG_4421.JPG

I love micellar water, so I was happy to see Bioderma's Hydrabio H2O in my box.  This is a moisturizing no-rinse makeup remover that you apply to your face with a cotton pad.  This might get light makeup off, but, if you have a full face on, I'd recommend using something a little stronger first, then using this as backup.  I also recommend washing your face after removing your makeup.  If you are tired and don't have the energy to wash your face, this is better than nothing.  It was quite moisturizing and had that nice, soft feel micellar water has.  Given that I use a stronger makeup remover before this and wash my face after using this, I don't think I'll be using this regularly.  It just adds an unnecessary step to my already long skincare routine.

IMG_4418.JPG

I love the Obliphica Professional Seaberry Hair Serum in Fine to Medium, so I was excited to try the serum in Medium to Coarse.  My hair is neither fine nor coarse, so I figured they would work equally well for me.  The two products contain the exact same ingredients.  The only difference is that the Medium to Coarse contains a colorant.  Both formulas gave me softer and smoother hair, so I was happy with the results.  These are definitely some of my favorite hair products ever.  Has anyone noticed a difference between the two formulas?  The worked exactly the same for me, but that might be because my hair is medium.

IMG_4412.JPG
Swatch of Cargo Cosmetics Swimmables Resistant Bronzer in Medium

Swatch of Cargo Cosmetics Swimmables Resistant Bronzer in Medium

Finally, we have the Cargo Cosmetics Swimmables Resistant Bronzer in Medium.  Cargo doesn't seem to make any other colors of the bronzer, so I'm not sure why it is called Medium.  This is quite buildable, so you can use a light touch for a subtle look or put more on to get something a little more dramatic.  This lasted all day and will even hold up in water.  Bronzer isn't my favorite product in the world -- it's more of a special occasion thing that an everyday product for me -- but I liked how this worked and will use it in the future.

March was a pretty good month for Birchbox.  The only miss for me was the Beauty Protector Protect and Volume.  The Bioderma Hyrabio H2O was okay, but it is not something I will use often.  I liked the ARROW brightener, the Cargo bronzer, and the Obliphica serum.  The Obliphica serum is probably my favorite product of the month, but the ARROW brightener came in a close second.  

What did you think of the March Birchbox?  Did you have any favorite products?

PopSugar Must Have Review, March 2017

PopSugar Must Have, $39.95 per month (US only)

IMG_4974.JPG
IMG_8239.JPG

Emmett loves his PopSugar boxes!  They're some of the only boxes he will fit in.  When he's not standing up in them, he is rubbing his chin all over them to claim them.

PopSugar Must Have is a monthly lifestyle box.  While PopSugar always has at least one beauty product per month, they also have home goods, accessories, jewelry, snacks, and sometimes even books.  PopSugar is one of the more expensive boxes, but its value is always over $100.  All subscribers receive the same products.

IMG_4081.JPG

Here's what we got this month:

The March PopSugar box was worth $111, or $136 if you count the "gift card."  It's more of a coupon than a gift card as it can't be stacked and the cheapest sunglasses they have are $45 (most being well over $100), so you'll definitely be spending some money to use it.  The value isn't as high as most months, but it's still over their guaranteed value of $100.  We got two home items, an accessory, a beauty product, and a snack this month.

IMG_4091.JPG
IMG_4093.JPG

First up, we have the Kate Spade photo album.  This holds 80 4"x6" photos.  It's of good quality, but I never print photos anymore, so I don't really know what I will do with this.  It will make a nice gift for someone who does print photos.  It's also a little plain for my taste, but it's cute in its own way.

IMG_4086.JPG

The next product is probably one of the weirdest items I have gotten in a PopSugar box, a translucent red plastic camera bag.  The red appears to be an exclusive for PopSugar as Stephanie Johnson doesn't offer this bag in red on their website.  It is well-made, but I don't exactly like showing off the contents of my purse.  It might be good for the beach or for something like an NFL game where they require clear bags, but it's not something I would use regularly.  When I saw the spoiler for this, I wasn't sure what I would do with it, but I was hoping I would get it and figure it out.  Of course, I still don't know what to do with it.

IMG_4099.JPG
IMG_4106.JPG

I've gotten a few Sunnylife products in PopSugar boxes and they are always fun.  The watermelon lunch box is cute and dishwasher safe, but not microwave safe.  It was bigger than I expected.  The lid snaps on somewhat tightly, but it also comes with a huge rubber band to secure it completely.  I wouldn't recommend putting a liquid in this as it would probably leak a bit.  I wish it was microwave safe, but it's still cute and will get some use.

IMG_4802.JPG
Swatch of Thrive Causemetics Brilliant Eye Brightener in Stella

Swatch of Thrive Causemetics Brilliant Eye Brightener in Stella

You may have noticed that the Thrive Causemetics Brilliant Eye Brightener isn't pictured in the box at the top of the page.  That's because this was missing from my box and PopSugar had to mail it out to me separately.  They did get it to me pretty quickly, so I will give them credit for that.  Thrive donates a product to a woman who has cancer or is escaping domestic violence for every product purchased, so it's a great company.  This brightener didn't do much brightening for me as it was almost the exact same color as my skin.  It added a little shimmer, but it would probably look better on someone who has a darker complexion than I do.  The end pops off to work as a sharpener.  This stayed on all day and wasn't a bad product, but it just wasn't for me.

IMG_4089.JPG

The snack this month was Smash Mallow in Cinnamon Churro.  Smash Mallow makes gourmet marshmallows in a variety of flavors.  I've never liked marshmallows that much, but I thought I might like these as they are supposed to be of better quality than regular marshmallows and I love cinnamon.  Unfortunately, I didn't like these at all.  I started eating one and had to spit it out because I thought it was so bad.  The texture was slightly different from regular marshmallows (and not in a good way) and it tasted very strongly of vanilla.  I like vanilla, but this was too strong.  I was quite disappointed as cinnamon is one of my favorite flavors, so I had high hopes for these.  Perhaps other flavors are better.  Has anyone else tried other Smash Mallow products?  If so, what did you think?

IMG_4096.JPG

PopSugar, as I mentioned above, threw in a gift card to Velvet Eyewear.  They make pricey sunglasses, but they do have a cheaper Trends line with sunglasses that are $45-$55.  You can't stack these with other gift cards or coupons, so it's more of a coupon than a gift card.  If anyone wants this, send me a note in the Contact Me section of the site and I'll e-mail the info to the first person who asks for it.

This was definitely the worst PopSugar box I've gotten.  I had gotten a discounted three-month subscription when they were on sale for the holidays.  I was happy with those boxes, so I decided to continue on as a subscriber paying full price this month.  That was a huge mistake.  It'd be one thing if I had gotten this box for half off, but the fact that I paid $40 for this does not make me happy.  The only product I really liked and will use regularly is the cute little watermelon lunchbox, but I could have bought that for $18. The photo album, bag, eye brightener, and marshmallows will all probably end up in my giveaway pile.  It really felt like it was missing an item as PopSugar usually has six items and the gift card didn't really count to me.  This also had a very summery feel to it.  The bag, lunchbox, and sunglasses gift card are products I would expect to see in June, not March.  I decided to cancel my PopSugar subscription after getting this box.  I might restart it at some point if a good spoiler comes along, but I'm going to wait and see.  There is a cute cutting board spoiler for the April box and that almost makes me want to reactivate my subscription, but I am trying to hold out.

What did you think of the March PopSugar box?

ipsy Review, March 2017

ipsy, $10 per month (add $4.95 for Canadian orders)

IMG_4671.JPG
IMG_4605.JPG

My baby Mickey is growing up way too fast!  He wouldn't even fit in the March ipsy bag!  He's about to turn two months old.  I wish they could stay babies.

ipsy is a monthly beauty subscription.  It costs only $10 per month.  Subscribers receive five items per month plus a cute makeup bag.  ipsy customizes the products based on subscriber profiles, but they tend to be heavier on makeup than skincare.  You'll get a mix of both drugstore and higher end brands in an ipsy bag and most items are deluxe sample size and occasionally even full size. 

IMG_4338.JPG

Here's what came in my March Glam Bag:

My March ipsy was worth $44.32.  This month, I used my ipsy points and got a full size Hourglass Ambient Light Correcting Primer in Mood Light, which was worth $44, and, if you include that, it doubles the value of my March ipsy bag.  The bag this month was bigger than usual.  It's a dusty pinky-peach color with mesh on one side and soft velour on the other side, and it works as a foldover clutch.

IMG_4321.JPG

This month's bag was kind of cute.  I like that they gave us a slightly bigger bag this month and the style was a little different.  The color wasn't my favorite, though.  The non-mesh side is so soft!

IMG_4356.JPG

First up, we have the LadyKin Affinitic Snail Cream, which I have gotten in a box before.  Isn't the snail container the cutest?  This cream contains 80% snail mucin.  If you're not familiar with snail mucus, which, I know, sounds gross, it's actually fabulous for your skin.  Korean snail farmers noticed that the cuts on their hands healed much faster than cuts on other parts of their body and realized it was due to the snail mucus.  It's great for healing your skin, fighting signs of aging, and hydration.  It doesn't smell bad or feel slimy.  Snails aren't harmed during mucus collection, but, obviously, if you're vegan, this won't be for you.  I like to use snail products to help my skin recover faster from a breakout.  This worked well and I highly recommend it.  

IMG_4342.JPG
Swatch of Dirty Little Secret Cosmetics Blush in Kitty Pink

Swatch of Dirty Little Secret Cosmetics Blush in Kitty Pink

ipsy has been featuring Dirty Little Secret Cosmetics products a lot recently.  I hadn't heard of them before I started seeing them in ipsy bags.  Their blush in Kitty Pink (which, based on the company name and their product names, I assume is not an innocent name) isn't really pink at all.  Their website describes it as a dusty rose, but it is more of a dusty peach.  The color wasn't my favorite and didn't look all that great on me.  It also didn't hold up all day.  I would recommend passing on this.  

IMG_4351.JPG
Swatch of tarte cosmetics tarteist Quick Dry Matte Lip Paint in Delish

Swatch of tarte cosmetics tarteist Quick Dry Matte Lip Paint in Delish

I love tarte products, so I am always happy to get another one!  I've tried a number of tarte's lip products, but I think this is the first time I've tried their Quick Dry Matte Lip Paint formula.  When they say quick dry, they mean quick dry!  This dried within seconds and once it was on, it was on.  I had the little swatch on my arm and tried to wipe it off right after photographing it.  It seriously left a stain for over a day on my arm, even after taking makeup remover to it and washing it.  It does wear off a bit after eating and drinking, but it has impressive staying power.  The color isn't quite as bold as I would like, but it's pretty and it looks good on me.  I would be interested in trying other colors in this line.

IMG_4363.JPG

My hair has been drier than usual lately, so I was hoping the Marc Anthony Deep Repair Aloe Vera Jasmine Conditioning Treatment would help give it some moisture.  This is a hair mask that you apply after shampooing, then let set for three to seven minutes and rinse.  Unfortunately, I didn't notice any difference whatsoever after using this.  

IMG_4360.JPG

The final product this month was the Chella Tweezers.  This has holes to grip them so you can have better control over them and get any hair easily.  This worked well and was quite comfortable to hold and use.  I don't know that I would pay $20 for it, but I liked it and am happy to have it.

IMG_4369.JPG
Swatch of Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Light Correcting Primer in Mood Light

Swatch of Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Light Correcting Primer in Mood Light

I used my ipsy points to get a full size Hourglass Ambient Light Correcting Primer in Mood Light.  This is a primer that is supposed to blur flaws and smooth out the skin, kind of like a personal Instagram filter.  Beside Mood Light, they also have Luminous Light and Dim Light.  Hourglass calls Mood Light a "soft, sheer pink that softens light to create the most forgiving mood lighting," Luminous Light a "champagne pearl that brightens light to create a luminous candlelit glow," and Dim Light a "natural beige that neutralizes light to create soft, dim lighting."  This did blur imperfections, but I didn't see much of an effect under my full coverage foundation.  If you skip the foundation or use something with very light coverage, you would probably have better results.  This worked well as a primer, though.  My foundation stayed on better than usual and held up all day.  

This was a pretty good month for ipsy.  I loved three of the five products, plus I also loved the Hourglass primer that I got with my points.  My favorite product was the tarte lipstick, but the Ladykin snail cream and the Chella Tweezers were close behind.  The Marc Anthony hair treatment and the Dirty Little Secret blush weren't for me, unfortunately.

What did you think of this month's ipsy?  What did you get?  Did anyone have better luck with the Marc Anthony hair treatment?

Terra Bella Box Review, March 2017

Terra Bella Box, $32.95 per month (free shipping to US, see site for international shipping rates)

IMG_4668.JPG
IMG_4625.JPG

Little baby Mickey was all about digging in the squiggles.  He keeps hoping to find some parsley in a box.

Terra Bella Box is a monthly natural, cruelty-free beauty box that features products made by small businesses.  Subscribers receive three to four skincare, hair care, and/or bath products per month.  Terra Bella has started a second box, The Makeup Edit, so if you prefer makeup products to skincare, then that might be the box for you.  You are able to switch back and forth between The Makeup Edit and Terra Bella subscriptions if you want.  The Makeup Edit is $29.95 per month, so it's a little cheaper than Terra Bella.  

Terra Bella Box sent me this box free of charge for review.

IMG_4498.JPG

Here's what I got in my March Terra Bella Box:

My March box was worth $72.  That's more than double the price of the box, so I'm happy with the value.  Previously, all subscribers received the same products with perhaps some scent and color variation, but Terra Bella Box did something a little different this month.  All subscribers received the Cultivar moisturizer and then three different Wellsmith products.  The products you could potentially receive were the Extra Large Bath Bomb (in either Vanilla/Lavender or Green Tea/Aloe), Hydrating Lip Balm (flavors varied), Solid Perfume (scents varied), Herbal Bath Tea (in Relax, Detox, Sitz, or Basic), and Scented Shea Butter (scents varied).  I've linked to the Wellsmith store above, but it doesn't appear that they have any products available for sale at this time.

IMG_4517.JPG

The product that all subscribers received was the Cultivar Organic Deeply Nourishing Daily Moisturizer.  You may remember that we got a Cultivar product in the September Terra Bella Box, the Clean and Healthy Organic Dry Shampoo.  I was expecting this to be a cream, but it is actually a liquid.  This is a mix of moisturizing oils, including argan, meadowfoam seed, rice bran, peach kernel, Abyssinian, chia seed, prickly pear cactus, and a blend of essential oils.  The lavender in the essential oil blend is the strongest scent, but I don't mind it.  To use this, you apply a couple of drops to your face and massage in.  I found it took a couple of minutes to fully absorb, but it didn't feel greasy after it finished absorbing.  It was extremely moisturizing.  I would recommend this if you need a hardcore facial moisturizer.

IMG_4506.JPG

One of the three Wellsmith products I received was the Herbal Bath Tea in Relax.  I got the Detox tea in the January 2016 Terra Bella Box and loved it, so I was happy to get a new one to try this month.  There are two ways to use this bath tea.  As you can see, there is a muslin bag attached to the back of the packaging.  You pour the contents of the plastic bag into the muslin bag and let it steep in boiling water for fifteen minutes, then dump the water in your bath.  Alternatively, you can just dip the bag in your bath water.  The "tea" is a blend of Epsom salt, chamomile, rose, lemongrass, passionflower, and orange peel.  It smells great and is, of course, very relaxing.  This is a special treat!  It's the perfect thing for the end of a long, stressful day.

IMG_4511.JPG

The second Wellsmith product I got was the Solid Perfume in Patchouli/Orange Scent.  This was my least favorite product in the box this month.  The beeswax made it a little stickier than I was expecting.  While I love citrus scents, patchouli just isn't for me and this was heavier on the patchouli than the orange.  It held up all day, though.  I'm not sure what other scents of solid perfume Wellsmith makes, but I would be interested in trying them.

IMG_4503.JPG

The final product I got was the Wellsmith Refreshing Bath Bomb in Green Tea/Aloe.  This was my favorite product in my Terra Bella Box this month.  This thing is huge!  I think this is the biggest bath bomb I have ever had.  The aloe scent was soft but noticeable and was relaxing.  The bomb was very hydrating.  I didn't want to get out of the tub because I loved this so much.  I might have to buy some of these once Wellsmith restocks their store.

I'm very happy with my Terra Bella Box this month!  I like that they did something a little different and had product variation, but had all the product variations be from the same company.  The Wellsmith bath bomb was definitely my favorite product this month, but the Cultivar moisturizer was a close second.  I also quite liked the bath tea.  The solid perfume wasn't for me, but that's just because patchouli isn't my scent.  The March Terra Bella Box was a lot of fun!

DermStore BeautyFix Review, March 2017

DermStore BeautyFix, $24.95 per month (US only)

IMG_4288.JPG
IMG_4141.JPG

Baby Mickey thought he was modeling for DermStore BunnyFix, so he was a little disappointed to not find any bunny treats.  He is an extra special baby bun.  Don't tell the others, but he is my favorite.

DermStore BeautyFix is a subscription box that sends subscribers $100+ worth of products each month.  All subscribers receive the same products with perhaps some scent or color variation.  Most months, you'll get multiple skincare products, a makeup product, a beauty tool, and sometimes a hair or nail product.  You'll get at least six products, sometimes as many as eleven.  BeautyFix is very heavy on skincare and is great for women who are 30+ and interested in fighting signs of aging.

IMG_3895.JPG

Here's what I got this month:

The March BeautyFix was worth about $115.12, which definitely isn't bad for a $25 box!  I had to estimate the value of the SkinCeuticals Hyaluronic Acid Intensifier as the size wasn't marked on the bottle.  We got five skincare products this month, one hair product, a beauty tool, a body product, and a supplement.  This is my first time getting a supplement from BeautyFix.  We hadn't had beauty tools in a BeautyFix box for a couple of months, so I was worried they were going to stop including them.  I am happy to see one making an appearance again!  

IMG_3904.JPG

We got a full size Dr. Brandt product this month!  I've tried quite products from Dr. Brandt's Pores No More line, but I think this is my first time getting the cleanser.  This cleanser uses salicylic acid, tea tree oil, and willow bark to gently exfoliate the skin and clean out your pores.  This helped me get a breakout cleared up faster than usual, so I was impressed by it.  My only complaint is that this stuff really burns if it gets into your eyes!  Occasionally, facial cleanser is going to get into your eyes when you're washing your face, but it doesn't usually burn like this does. 

IMG_3902.JPG

The second full size product this month was the EVOLVh SuperFinish Polishing Balm.  I've tried some of EVOLVh's products before and loved them, but this is my first time trying their balm.  You can apply this to damp hair or you can use it for a little extra polish when your hair is dry.  This moisturizes, adds shine, prevents frizziness and flyaways, and protects hair from UV.  My hair looked extra soft and shiny when I used this and I found it made my hair a little more manageable.  I imagine the effects would be even more dramatic on someone who has hair that is prone to frizziness.  I highly recommend this product.

IMG_3922.JPG

The SkinCeuticals Hyaluronic Acid Intensifier is moisturizing and ant-aging. It looks like strawberry juice, but I think the weird reddish color must be from the purple rice that is in it.  It's a small sample, but I got a few uses out of it.  I found it to be very moisturizing, but I couldn't see any anti-aging effects after using it only a few times.

IMG_3914.JPG

This month, the beauty tool was beautyblender's Blotterazzi.  This is a reusable blotter that is supposed to remove excess oil from your face without messing up your makeup.  It's made out of the same spongy material as the regular beatuyblender.  Blotting papers are my friends in the summer because my oily skin goes into overdrive.  Blotterazzi works well and everything, but it's not for me.  You have to wash these very regularly or they can get gross as they're soaking up sweat and oil.  I'm not good about washing my brushes regularly, so I imagine that I wouldn't be good about washing these regularly either.  If you do wash your makeup brushes and tools regularly, this might work well for you.  It is nice that it doesn't disturb your makeup online some paper blotting papers.

IMG_3916.JPG

HUM makes supplements that are supposed to help make you more beautiful from within.  Many of their supplements contain vitamins and minerals that help make your skin, hair, and nails healthier.  This supplement contains melatonin and B6 to help you get your beauty rest.  You take them 20 minutes before bed and it helps you fall asleep faster.  These worked pretty well.  These aren't sleeping pills, so they probably won't help with real insomnia, but if you have a little bit of difficulty unwinding and falling asleep at night, these are worth a try.  This is the first time I've gotten something like this in my BeautyFix box.  I like it.

IMG_3911.JPG

I'm not really into self tanning, but I gave the Sun Bum Self Tanning Towelette a try.  To use it, you rub the towel in a circular motion over the parts of your body you wish to tan.  The tan will slowly appear over two to four hours.  These also exfoliate and moisturize your skin. This doesn't have the stinky smell that many self tanners have, so that was a big plus.  It gave me a slightly darker color and went on evenly.  If you like self tanners, I would recommend this.

IMG_3907.JPG

I've tried a lot of neroli products and I usually don't like the scent, so I was quite surprised that I loved the scent of the June Jacobs Neroli Hydrating Mist.  It had a softer scent to it, so that helped.  This is a toner that is supposed to stimulate cell regeneration, protect skin from toxins, and combat signs of aging.  Many toners are drying, so it was nice to have a hydrating toner.  This winter has really dried out my skin (except my chin -- my chin will never dry out!), so I need all the moisture I can get right now.

IMG_3927.JPG

The Jouer Essential Lip Enhancer is a lip balm that hydrates your lips, plus adds a little fullness and helps fill in fine lines.  It had a bit of a rose scent to it, but it wasn't overly strong.  It wasn't sticky at all and felt nice on my lips.  I don't normally like lip plumpers as my lips are already quite full, but the plumping effect was minimal and there wasn't the burning or stinging feeling a lot of lip plumpers have.  It filled in lines, so I liked that.  

IMG_3920.JPG

Finally, there was the Vichy Idéalia Radiance Boosting Serum.  This was a very small sample, so I only got a couple of uses out of it.  This serum is supposed to smooth your skin, minimize pores, and make your complexion more radiant.  Vichy says that you should see results after only eight days, which is quite impressive for a serum.  It was not very smart of them to give us such a small sample -- if they had given us a big enough sample that we could use it for eight days, then we might have been able to see results.  They could have gained a lot of customers if they were able to show us how well it worked.  I didn't really notice any difference after using this for the couple of days I got out of this sample.

This is the best BeautyFix box I've seen in a few months.  Last month's box was a bit of a disappointment, so I'm happy to see a great box this month.  I liked everything in it.  The Vichy serum is probably a good product, but I didn't have enough of it to tell for sure.  beautyblender Blotterazzi works well, but it's just not for me as I know I wouldn't wash it enough.  As for favorites, it's a three-way tie -- June Jacobs Neroli Hydrating Mist, EVOLVh SuperFinish Polishing Balm, and Dr. Brandt Pores No More Cleanser.  Best of all, two of my three favorites were full size and the third was a deluxe sample size.  This was one of the better BeautyFix boxes I've gotten!

What did you think of this month's BeautyFix box?

Kloverbox Review, March 2017

Kloverbox, $25 per month (US only)

IMG_4283.JPG
IMG_4238.JPG

Little Apple has her baby bunny side eye down!  She's just the cutest.  She was disappointed there wasn't real clover in the box.

Kloverbox is a monthly beauty and lifestyle box that focuses on natural products made by small companies.  Each month, Kloverbox has a loose theme and sends subscribers a mix of four to six beauty products, home goods, cleaning products, and/or pieces of jewelry.  This is a great way to discover small businesses that you probably wouldn't encounter on your own.  All subscribers get the same products with occasional color and/or scent variations.  Kloverbox changed owners over the summer, so, if you subscribed in the past and were bothered by the late boxes, you'll be happy to know that the boxes are always coming in the middle of the month now!

Kloverbox sent me this box free of charge for review.  The link above is my affiliate link.

IMG_4264.JPG

Here's what came in the March Kloverbox:

The March Kloverbox was worth $59.89.  That's almost 2.5 times the price of the box, so I'm happy with the value.  We got a body product, a perfume, a home item, and then a health item this month, so we had a good mix.  This month's theme was Stop and Smell the Klovers and was about making you smell and feel your best.  

IMG_4279.JPG

First, we have the Love Myself Organics Natural Deodorant in Forever, which is a lavender scent.  The thing about natural deodorants is that they are just that -- deodorants.  If you sweat a lot and need an antiperspirant, natural deodorants won't be the right option for you.  If you have minimal sweating, though, and just want to cover up the scent, a natural deodorant would be a good option.  This deodorant is a blend of coconut oil, cocoa butter, arrowroot powder, baking soda, candelilla wax, and essential oils.  The Love Myself Organics deodorant covered the smell well and lasted all day.  The lavender scent isn't my favorite, but it wasn't bad.  

IMG_4275.JPG

We got several Cuccio Somatology products, a lotion and a yoga DVD, in the September Kloverbox.  This month, we got their Yoga Elixir Calming Spray.  The spray has a lavender and cardamom scent to it and is quite nice.  I don't usually love lavender, but I'm really liking how it blends with the cardamom.  This can be used as a natural air freshener or you can use it on your yoga towels to relax you.  This was my favorite product in my Kloverbox this month.

IMG_4271.JPG

The next product is the Harvey Prince Organics Sincerely spray.  This isn't your normal 1.5 ml perfume sample size -- it's 8.8 ml, so it's quite big.  I like Harvey Prince's Hello, but their Sincerely (formerly known as Journey) just isn't for me.  Harvey Prince says the perfume has notes of Indonesian clove bud, Australian sandalwood, Moroccan rose, French bergamot, Indian tuberose, Japanese orange flower, Lebanese cedarwood, Turkish cyclamen, and South African freesia.  This perfume has a very sweet scent to it and sweet scents aren't my style.  If you like sweet florals, though, this would be an excellent choice for you.

IMG_4267.JPG

The final product this month was VagMagic.  VagMagic is a homeopathic treatment for yeast infection and bacterial vaginosis.  There are four ingredients -- hydrogen borate, L. Acidophilus, vegetarian capsules, and water.  To treat a yeast infection, you insert one capsule a day for seven days.  To treat bacterial vaginosis, you insert one capsule a day for 21 days.  I prefer quick treatments for yeast infections, so I usually use the pill my doctor prescribes or the one day treatment you can get at the store.  If you want a more natural treatment, though, these would be worth trying.  I don't currently have any problems that would necessitate the use of these, so I was unable to try them out.  Has anyone used these?  If so, how did they work?

This wasn't my favorite Kloverbox ever, but it wasn't bad.  My favorite product was definitely the Cuccio Somatology Yoga Elixir Calming Spray, followed by the Love Myself Organics Natural Deodorant.  The Harvey Prince perfume wasn't for me, but scents are very personal, so you may love it.  I, fortunately, haven't needed a yeast infection treatment, so I can't tell you how well the VagMagic treatment works.  The products definitely fit the theme well!

What did you think of the March Kloverbox?  I'd love to hear your thoughts in the comments.

Goodbeing Review, March 2017

Goodbeing, $21.95 per month (free shipping to US; add $9 for addresses in Canada, the UK, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand)

IMG_4286.JPG
IMG_4151.JPG

Sweet little Apple isn't so sure about modeling!  She doesn't really want to hold still for even a second.

Goodbeing is a monthly natural beauty box.  Subscribers fill out extensive profiles upon subscribing.  Goodbeing seems to be one of the few beauty box companies that actually pays attention to those profiles.  It's clear they put a lot of thought into curating the perfect box for each subscriber.  Each month, you'll get four to five products.  Besides the expected makeup, hair care, and skincare products, you also sometimes get health foods and supplements.  Goodbeing recently began allowing subscribers to choose one to two products per month.  You don't have to choose any products if you don't want, but it's nice to have the option.  The one thing I find annoying about Goodbeing is that you get small product information cards for each product instead of one big card that has all the products on it.  They get lost easily.  I understand, though, that that helps make it so that Goodbeing can personalize boxes more easily, so I'm okay with it as I'd rather have a personalized box than one big card.

IMG_4024.JPG

Here's what came in my March Goodbeing box:

My March Goodbeing was worth $54.95.  That's a little under 2.5 times the price of the box, which isn't bad for a natural box.  We got only four items this month and normally we get five, so that was a little disappointing.  I know Goodbeing says in their information you get four to five items, but when you're so used to getting five, four seems a little weird.  I got a makeup item and three skincare items.  Goodbeing used to be more balanced, but I've found they've been going very light on makeup recently.

IMG_4048.JPG
IMG_4052.JPG

Besides the fact that we got only four items, two of the four products, the Modicum Essential Cleanser and Modicum Essential Exfoliant, are meant to be used together, so it almost feels like they count as just one item.  You can use either one on its own, but Goodbeing suggests mixing a little of the exfoliant in with the cleanser when washing your face.  The exoliant is a powder.  They both have a very natural smell to them, which I don't love, but they work well.  The cleanser is non-drying and the exfoliant is very gentle.  They left my skin feeling very smooth.  All the pictures I've seen of other subscribers' March boxes have these products in it, so it's possible everyone got these products this month.

IMG_4034.JPG
Swatch of Zabana Essentials Glow Stick in Bronze Bahama Mama

Swatch of Zabana Essentials Glow Stick in Bronze Bahama Mama

The next product was one that I chose.  Normally, I wouldn't have chosen the Zabana Essentials Glow Stick, but they didn't have that many good options for March.  I've gotten their Glow Stick before in the color Bare Beauty, but I wasn't all that impressed with it as it didn't really have any color and I didn't see all that much shimmer.  I was hoping I would see more of an effect with the colored stick, but, as you can see above, it's also quite subtle.  It smells strongly of nectarine, which I don't love.  I also found it very difficult to work with.  You really have to get the stick warmed up to use it.  A chunk of it broke off when I was trying to get the swatch.  I tried to rub the chunk in, but parts of it just weren't dissolving, so I picked those pieces off so I could take the picture.  This feels like more of a summer item to me.

IMG_4058.JPG

Finally, my other product choice for March was the Biodara Coconut Matcha Brightening Mask.  This is a powdered mask that you mix with water to make a paste.  You apply it to your face, wait ten minutes, then rinse.  It's supposed to help with healing breakouts and brightening the skin to minimize the appearance of acne scars.  I didn't notice any real brightening effects after just one use, but skin did feel smooth and soft.  I'll have to use it more to see what kind of results I get.

This definitely wasn't my favorite Goodbeing.  It felt like it was missing something.  I used to absolutely love Goodbeing, but the past few months have been misses for me.  I liked the Modicum cleanser and exfoliant and the Biodara mask and thought the Zabana Essentials Glow Stick was okay, but nothing in the box really wowed me.  I'm hoping April will be better.

What did you think of the March Goodbeing box?  Did you like yours more than I liked mine?