FabFitFun Starter Box Review

FabFitFun, $49.99 per quarter (free shipping to continental US; add $8 for shipping to Hawaii, Alaska, Puerto Rico, and Canada)

IMG_3067.JPG
IMG_0448.JPG

FabFitFun is a quarterly lifestyle box that sends subscribers a mix of beauty products, jewelry, accessories, fitness products, and home goods.  All subscribers receive the same products with some color and/or scent variations.  If you're a yearly subscriber, FabFitFun allows you to choose the variations you would like.  The box always has a value of $200+.  FFF also has a charity they partner with each quarter.  FabFitFun also has add ons each quarter.  They are products sold at a heavily discounted price that you can purchase during the weeks leading up to next quarter's box and have shipped with your box.

This isn't FabFitFun's regular quarterly box.  FabFitFun recently had an offer where current annual subscribers could send out invitations to three friends to get the starter box.  People who received the invitation could pay $2 shipping to receive the box and either cancel after getting it or continue the subscription and get the next quarterly box.  I sent out three invitations and here are what two of the people got.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what came in  one starter box:

Emily got the second starter box and got Trina Turk Beach Tote in Seas the Day, the palette, and the Marrakesh Oil. She didn't get a necklace. The first one pictured was was worth $192.99 and hers was worth $127.99.  My sister got one and got everything that was in the first one but got a different Pure Cosmetics palette.  I've heard some people have just gotten the bag and the hair oil.  There are variations, which is a little annoying, but, for $2, you can't really complain.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's Emily's bag.

FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg

The Trina Turk beach bags originally appeared in the Summer 2016 FabFitFun box.  I didn't get that box, so I didn't have this bag.  There was also a yellow Trina Turk bag that says "sunshine and saltwater."  I haven't seen anyone with the starter box who got the yellow bag, though.  These bags were made exclusively for FabFitFun.  They are very sturdy and cute, quite big, and have strong, but soft, rope handles.  These are perfect beach bags!  

FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg

The Pure Cosmetics Nude Collection Eyeshadow Palette originally came in the Fall 2016 box.  The eyeshadow is highly pigmented and of excellent quality, but the colors aren't really to my taste.  They go on smoothly, blend well, and last all day when applied over a primer.  There is some fallout when applying, but it isn't excessive.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Marrakesh Oil in Original Scent made its first appearance in the Spring 2016 box.  I love this hair oil, so it's always a treat to get another one.  It smells great, controls flyaways, softens hair, makes it more manageable, and makes it shinier.  It's everything I need in a hair product.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Finally, there was the Jook and Nona Tag Necklace in Inspire.  This necklace was originally in the Spring 2016 box and also came in Happy, Dream, and Love.  These are quite delicate.  They are pretty enough, but not really my style.

The FabFitFun starter box was the perfect introduction to the subscription.  I think they probably were able to get a lot of people who got the starter box to continue on as a subscriber.  It was a good mix of products that was very representative of the kind of boxes FabFitFun puts out.

Did anyone else get the starter box?  What did you think?

Play! by Sephora Review, July 2017

Play! by Sephora, $10 per month (US only)

IMG_2632.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

Doesn't this cutie have the most adorable little ears?

Play! is Sephora's monthly beauty box.  At $10 per month, it is very affordable.  All of the products can be found at your local Sephora, so, if you really like something, it's easy to get more.  Each month, subscribers receive a makeup bag, a mix of five makeup, skincare, and hair care products, plus one perfume sample.  Sephora customizes the boxes somewhat based on profiles you fill out upon subscribing.  You also receive a card that will get you fifty extra Beauty Insider points with any purchase at a Sephora and an invitation to a Play Date, which is an event held at select Sephoras for subscribers to go and learn more about the products in that month's box.  Unfortunately, there are very few stores that have the Play Date, so you may not have one in your area.  There is a waiting list for this subscription, but they open it up every month or two. 

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what came in my July box:

My July box was worth $44.15.  That's pretty average for Play!, and not bad at all for $10.  There was quite a bit of variation this month, so you may have gotten different products in your box.  I got two makeup items, two skincare products, a hair care product, and a perfume this month.  Sephora often goes heavy on skincare or makeup, so I like that they had a good mix this month.

FullSizeRender.jpg

This month's bag was a little pink and white gingham bag that says Glamp Out!  It's not my favorite bag design.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Boscia's Charcoal Pore Pudding is a mask that is a mix of white and black charcoals and kaolin clay.  I didn't know white charcoal existed.  The black and white charcoals are swirled in the container, which is quite pretty.  You mix the black and white layers to make a grey paste and apply it to your face.  The charcoal draws out impurities, minimizes pores, and balances hydration.  It made my skin look and feel great.  It pulled out some of the excess oil, which is perfect for me in the summer.  This is one of my new favorite masks.  It's $38 for a full size, so it's not extraordinarily expensive.

FullSizeRender.jpg

MILK Makeup's Cooling Water is a stick that contains seawater and caffeine.  Caffeine is great for reducing puffiness, so I love when an eye treatment contains it!  You rub this stick under your eyes or anywhere on your face that needs it.  It's very cooling and moisturizing.  It made the skin around my eyes look less puffy.  I might need to get the full size version of this once this little one is out.  

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of bareMinerals GEN NUDE Matte Liquid Lipcolor in Swag

Swatch of bareMinerals GEN NUDE Matte Liquid Lipcolor in Swag

bareMinerals' GEN NUDE Matte Liquid Lipcolor contains primer and is moisturizing, which is rare for a matte lipstick.  It goes on as a cream and dries to matte quickly.  The color is very close to my natural lip color, so it's not really the color for me.  I like something bolder.  The formula was smooth and easy to work with.  I wish the color was more to my liking.

FullSizeRender.jpg

I got IT Cosmetics' Superhero Elastic Stretch Volumizing Mascara in my May ipsy.  It gives me lots of length and volume, doesn't clump, and doesn't flake.  It also contains collagen, biotin, proteins, and peptides to condition lashes.  This is one of the better mascaras I've tried recently.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Briogeo's Rosarco Milk Reparative Leave-in Conditioning Spray has been showing up in boxes a lot lately.  This spray makes hair softer and shinier, protects hair from the heat and sun, and minimizes frizziness.  You spray this in your hair after a shower and style as you usually would.  I love how soft and shiny this makes my hair, so this is one of my favorite hair products to get.

FullSizeRender.jpg

This month's perfume sample was Atelier's Orange Sanguine Cologne.  Sephora goes a little too heavy on Atelier perfume in Play! boxes.  I like a number of Atelier perfumes, but there are a few that aren't for me.  Orange Sanguine has notes of blood orange, bitter orange, jasmine, geranium, amber woods, tonka beans, and sandalwood.  I've tried this perfume before and liked it, but when I tried it this time, I didn't like it as much. I'm not sure why as I usually love citrus scents.  I prefer Atelier's California Clementine.

I was happy with my July Play! by Sephora.  The boscia mask, MILK Makeup Cooling Water, IT Cosmetics mascara, and Briogeo Rosarco Milk were all amazing products. I think the boscia mask and MILK Cooling Water were my two favorites. The bareMinerals liquid lipstick had a great formula but the color was not my style.  The Atelier perfume wasn't horrible, but it wasn't as good as I remembered it. 

What did you think of the July Play! by Sephora?  Did you get the same products?

PopSugar Must Have Review, July 2017

PopSugar Must Have, $39.95 per month (US only)

IMG_3065.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

Emmett is looking a little annoyed!  He's still the cutest, though.

PopSugar Must Have is a monthly lifestyle box.  While PopSugar always has at least one beauty product per month, they also have home goods, accessories, jewelry, snacks, and sometimes even books.  PopSugar is one of the more expensive boxes, but its value is always over $100.  All subscribers receive the same products in the monthly box.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what came in my July PopSugar Must Have box:

The July PopSugar was worth $118.69.  We got three home items, two beauty items, and a snack this month.  

FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg

First up, we have the Ocean Tribe by Turkish-T Kilim Towel in Ecru and Blue.  I've never actually gotten a Turkish towel in a subscription box before.  This one is really big and perfect to lay out on the grass for a picnic or to use as a beach blanket.  As you can see above, one side is mostly blue with ecru accents and the other side is reversed.  Both sides are equally pretty, so you can use whichever side you prefer.  The towel is lightweight, but not too thin.  It's of excellent quality.  I'm loving this towel!

FullSizeRender.jpg

tarte's Lights, Camera, Splashes is the waterproof version of Lights, Camera, Lashes.  tarte calls it a 4-in-1 mascara as it lengthens, curls, volumizes, and conditions your lashes.  It doesn't give me quite as much length and volume as I like, but it's not bad.  I like the non-waterproof version better.  Waterproof mascara is so much more difficult to get off and I don't often have the need for my mascara to be waterproof, so I usually just go for the regular stuff.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Supergoop! Super Power Sunscreen Mousse is a lightweight mousse formula that has a light cucumber citrus scent and goes on evenly.  I got good, even coverage that lasted for hours.  It comes out as a mousse, then turns into a thin liquid as you rub it into your skin.  Because it's not a thick cream, it absorbs quickly.  I love this formula!

FullSizeRender.jpg

When I saw that we were getting ban.do Sip Sip Tumbler with Straw, I thought it looked very cheap and tacky and I wasn't impressed.  I was surprised when I got this tumbler, though!  It has some weight to it and doesn't feel cheap at all.  The "Free Refills" print on it, though, isn't my favorite, so I probably won't use this outside of the house.  I'm not sure why PopSugar chose that style when ban.do has much cuter ones available.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Matches?  Really, PopSugar?  The Sisters of Los Angeles Matches are a lot longer than they look in the picture!  They are 10 inches long and are perfect for starting a bonfire or lighting a fireplace.  Matches, though, are some of the last things I want to get in a subscription box.  I'm not sure what PopSugar was thinking.

FullSizeRender.jpg

The snack this month was the Snyder's of Hanover "Wholey Cheese!" Crispy Baked Crackers in Smoked Gouda.  I don't like cheese at all, so I had Emily try these.  She wasn't a fan of the gouda flavor, but thought she might like one of their other flavors more.

This wasn't the best month for PopSugar.  I loved the towel and the sunscreen, which were enough to make the box worth it to me.  The mascara was okay, but it's not my favorite.  The cup, while a little on the tacky side, is of great quality, so I'll use it.  I'm sure I'll eventually use the matches, but I just think they're a bizarre item for PopSugar to include.  The snack wasn't for me.  Nothing was absolutely horrible, but it just didn't feel like a well-curated box.  It felt a little thrown together.

What did you think of the July PopSugar Must Have?

Boxycharm Review, July 2017

Boxycharm, $21 per month (ships to contiguous US and all of Canada)

IMG_3063.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

This baby bun is quite the charmer!

Boxycharm is a monthly subscription box that sends subscribers four to five full size beauty products a month.  They tend to be very heavy on the makeup, although there are sometimes skincare, hair, and nail products.  You'll get a lot of eyeshadow, contour, and highlighter palettes with Boxycharm.  The minimum value is $100.  There is some product variation, so not all subscribers will receive the exact same items.  Boxycharm has a mix of drugstore and higher end brands.  I've had issues with Boxycharm's customer service in the past, but I was interested in the July and August boxes and decided to give them one more chance.  

There is often a waitlist for Boxycharm subscriptions, so sign up now if you are interested.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what came in my July Boxycharm:

My July Boxycharm was worth $127.  All five items were full size and all five were makeup items.  While Boxycharm is generally heavy on makeup, they usually have at least one non-makeup item, so I was a little surprised.  

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of ColourPop x Hello Kitty Ultra Satin Lip in Lock Diary

Swatch of ColourPop x Hello Kitty Ultra Satin Lip in Lock Diary

First up, we have the ColourPop x Hello Kitty Ultra Satin Lip.  Subscribers got one of six ColourPop colors.  The product information card lists ColourPop's Ultra Matte Lip, not the Ultra Satin Lip.  I prefer the Ultra Satin, so I'm okay with that. I got Lock Diary, which ColourPop calls "a deep fuchsia."  I've tried ColourPop's matte formula before, but never the satin.  It has a little sheen but isn't overly glossy.  It stays on all day long, even after eating and drinking, and needs very little, if any, touch-up.  Best of all, the color is gorgeous on me!  ColourPop is known for having inexpensive, high quality products, and they are sold online only.  Even though ColourPop is so inexpensive, I'm always excited to get another one of their products in a box!  I love expensive beauty products as much as anyone else, but ColourPop is proof that some drugstore-priced brands can be just as good, if not better, than some Sephora brands.

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of bareMinerals Invisible Light Translucent Powder Duo in Glow (left) and Matte (right)

Swatch of bareMinerals Invisible Light Translucent Powder Duo in Glow (left) and Matte (right)

Subscribers got either the bareMinerals Invisible Light Translucent Powder Duo or bareMinerals Prep Step Broad Spectrum SPF 50 Mineral Shield Daily Prep Lotion, a sunscreen/primer.  At first, I wanted the Prep Step, but I'm happy I ended up getting the powder duo.  The powders are baked and come in Matte and Glow.  The matte powder gives you a smooth finish and helps absorb oil, so it's perfect for me in the summer.  It sets my makeup and keeps me from looking like an oily mess.  The glow powder works as a pearly highlighter.  It gave me a subtle, but pretty, highlight.  I built them up so you could see them better in the swatch above, but they are really very translucent and should work on any complexion.

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatches of blinc Cosmetics Electric Eyes Eyeshadow Palette, left to right: Sphene, Autuni, Vanadini, Rhodoni, Orpime

Swatches of blinc Cosmetics Electric Eyes Eyeshadow Palette, left to right: Sphene, Autuni, Vanadini, Rhodoni, Orpime

Boxycharm worked with blinc Cosmetics to make this palette!  The second powder from the right wasn't damaged when I got it.  I dropped the bareMinerals palette on top of it when I was taking pictures, so that's why it has a mark on it.  The pigment is just amazing on these.  I was beyond impressed.  The swatches above are just one swipe of powder, no building up necessary.  I love the red!  I've been using this every day since I got it.  The colors go on smoothly, blend well, and last all day on me.  Boxycharm calls these colors jewel tones on the product information card, which I thought was a little weird.  The red is a jewel tone, but I don't think of brown and peach as jewel tones.  I definitely want to try more blinc Cosmetics products after using this eyeshadow.

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of Winky Lux Uni-Brow Universal Eyebrow Pencil

Swatch of Winky Lux Uni-Brow Universal Eyebrow Pencil

Winky Lux's Uni-Brow Universal Eyeshadow Pencil has a medium-dark brown eyebrow pencil on one end and a spoolie on the other side. I wish I had thought to remove the cap on the other end so you could see the spoolie.  This is supposed to be a universal color, but no color is really universal. This is probably going to be too dark for those with blonde hair and too light for those with black hair.  If you're somewhere in the middle, like I am, you're in luck.  This came out a little darker than I expected, but it looked great once I got it blended in.  Use a light touch to start with and build up as necessary.  The pencil is somewhat soft, making it easier to use than many eyebrow pencils I've tried.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

Finally, we have Project Beauty's Spray.Set.Go. Makeup Setting Spray.  This is a setting spray that contains chamomile, rose hip, and green tea, so it will moisturize your skin in addition to locking your makeup in place for the day.  You'll want to spray this at least a foot away from your face in order to get light, even coverage.  My makeup looked amazing all day long when I used this.  I was impressed with the formula.

Boxycharm really knocked it out of the park this month!  This was an amazing box and I loved each product in it.  I think the bareMinerals powder duo, ColourPop lipstick, and blinc palette are my favorite items, but the Project Beauty setting spray and Winky Lux eyebrow pencil are close behind them.  Next month, Boxycharm is going to have a tarte eyeshadow palette!  I'm so excited for that!

Did anyone else get the July Boxycharm?  If so, what did you think?

Terra Bella Box Review, July 2017

Terra Bella Box, $32.95 per month (free shipping for US addresses; see website for international shipping rates)

IMG_3194.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

I love the one ear up/one ear down stage that Holland Lops go through!

Terra Bella Box is a monthly natural, cruelty-free beauty box that features products made by small businesses.  Subscribers receive three to four skincare, hair care, and/or bath products per month.  Terra Bella has started a second box, The Makeup Edit, so if you prefer makeup products to skincare, that might be the box for you.  Subscribers are able to switch back and forth between The Makeup Edit and Terra Bella subscriptions if they want.  The Makeup Edit is $29.95 per month, so it's a little cheaper than Terra Bella.  

Terra Bella Box sent me this box free of charge for review.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what was in the July box:

My July Terra Bella Box was worth $49.94.   I got a room spray, a hair care product, a sunscreen, a lip product.  Two of the brands, Babo Botanicals and Scrub Me the Right Way, were new to me.  I love that Terra Bella introduces us to small businesses that we wouldn't always encounter on our own!  

FullSizeRender.jpg

I got Sarah's Sweet Scrubs' Body and Room Spray in Hawaii Morning with Pineapple, Lillikoi, and Mango in my Mommy Mailbox this month and loved it, so I was excited to see the Plumeria and Grapefruit Spray in my Terra Bella Box.  I like this scent even more than Hawaii Morning!  It smells great.  It has a soft, sweet floral scent to it.  Like the Hawaii Morning scent, I prefer this as a room or linen spray and don't really see myself using it as a perfume.  I didn't see a scent listed on the product information card, so it's possible there was some scent variation for subscribers.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

Bonjour Jolie's Beach Waves Salt Spray contains epsom salt, argan oil, avocado oil, Himalayan salt, aloe vera, sweet orange oil, and orange essential oil.  The orange scent is beautiful!  Salt sprays don't do much for my hair as my hair is quite short.  I had Emily try it out and it gave her some texture.  We were impressed by the results.  Bonjour Jolie says that this salt spray is moisturizing, which is nice as many sea salt sprays can dry your hair out a bit. 

FullSizeRender.jpg

I am swimming in sunscreen right now!  I can always use more, though, so no complaints about that.  Babo Botanicals SPF 30 Clear Zinc Sport Stick Broad Spectrum UVA/UVB Sunscreen is meant for the face and other sensitive skin.  It contains zinc oxide to protect you from the sun, plus it has beeswax, shea butter, jojoba, and other oils to keep your skin moisturized.  It is fragrance-free and extra gentle -- it can even be used for babies.  I love that there's a little bunny on the tube!

FullSizeRender.jpg

The final product was Scrub Me the Right Way's Raspberry Sorbet Lip Scrub.  Scrub Me the Right Way makes only three products, all of which are lip scrubs (raspberry, chocolate, and honey).  This scrub contains cane sugar, raspberry essence, and coconut, argan, avocado, and olive oils.  This is very exfoliating and left my lips feeling incredibly smooth and soft, and, because of the oils, it also made my lips feel moisturized.  I would have preferred the chocolate, but the raspberry scent isn't bad.

Terra Bella put out another fabulous box!  I loved all four products.  If I had to choose a favorite, it would be the Sarah's Sweet Scrubs Room and Body Spray in Plumeria and Grapefruit.  It's always fun to see what is  in my Terra Bella Box! 

What did you think of the July Terra Bella Box?  Did you love it as much as I did?

Petit Vour Review, July 2017

Petit Vour, $15 per month for US orders, $23 per month for Canadian orders, $25 per month for other international orders

IMG_2775.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

Petit Vour is a vegan, cruelty-free beauty box.  Each month, subscribers get four sample size products.  They are often heavier on skincare than makeup, but there is always a mix.  Oftentimes, subscribers get the same products with some scent or color variation, but Petit Vour has had some box variations recently.  You can e-mail them to get a profile to fill out if you subscribe so that they can better customize your boxes. 

Petit Vour sent me this box free of charge for review.  The link above is my affiliate link.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what came in my July Petit Vour:

My July box was worth $36.42.  That's pretty average for a Petit Vour box.  We got five items this month!  We got a skincare product, two bath products, a makeup item, and a lip balm.  I'm happy with the product mix.

FullSizeRender.jpg

First up, we have the OSEA Sea Minerals Mist.  I love OSEA!  I've tried a number of their products, but this is my first time trying their toner.  It's supposed to help sun-damaged skin and reduce redness and inflammation.  OSEA recommends keeping it in the refrigerator to make it extra refreshing.  OSEA also suggests using this as a setting spray for your makeup.

FullSizeRender.jpg

TAY's Essential Oils Bar Soap is very moisturizing for a bar soap!  It has a strong juniper scent.  I've never been a fan of juniper, so this wasn't for me.  The soap was of great quality, though, so I would love to try other scents.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

R.L. Linden and Co. calls La Balmba Rosa a "semi-gloss" because it is more moisturizing than a lip gloss and gives you a glossier look than your typical lip balm.  They also say you can use it for cuticles and dry patches.  This has a soft rose scent to it.  If it were any stronger a scent, it would bother me, but I love it as it is.  It left my lips feeling smooth and hydrated.

FullSizeRender.jpg

I love Zabana Essentials, so I'm always happy to see another of their products in a box!  This is my first time trying the Coconut Sugar and Salt Body Scrub.  You use it in the bath to exfoliate your entire body.  It's a gentle exfoliation and the aloe, glycerin, and oils make it hydrating, too.  The coconut scent is perfect for the summer!  

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of Adorn Mineral Brow Dust in Megan

Swatch of Adorn Mineral Brow Dust in Megan

This is a teeny sample!  A little goes a very long way, though, so it should last me for some time.  Megan is the darkest color of Adorn Minerals Brow Powder.  It doesn't list the color on the product information card, so it's possible there was some color variation.  It goes on even darker than it looks in the swatch.  It made my brows look close to black.  I recommend using a light touch with this.  Once I figured that out, though, I was able to make my brows look amazing with this powder.  I usually use pencils, but this filled my brows in much better and gave me a more natural look.

This is one of the better Petit Vour boxes I've gotten!  I loved everything in the box!  The scent of the soap wasn't my favorite, but I liked the soap itself and want to try a different scent.  The OSEA mist, Adorn brow dust, Zabana scrub, and R.L. Linden and Co. lip balm were all fabulous products that I had never tried before.  

What did you think of the July Petit Vour?

Glossybox Review, July 2017

Glossybox, $21 per month US, has many international versions

IMG_2308.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

This baby bun was feeling a little shy!  She didn't want to look at the camera.

Glossybox is a beauty box that sends subscribers five to six products each month.  The samples are often full size or deluxe sample size.  You tend to get more skincare than makeup in this box, but there is always a mix.  Glossybox used to send mostly higher end brands, but their boxes for the past year have included a lot of brands I've never heard of.  Glossybox likes to include products from European brands that don't sell their products in the U.S., so, if there is a product I really like, I may not be able to buy it.  There is a lot of product variation, so some subscribers receive boxes that are worth much more than those other subscribers receive.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what I got:

My July Glossybox was worth $74.93.  That's a pretty average value for Glossybox.  Four of the products were full size (five if you count the Z-palette)!  I got three skincare products, a makeup item, two hair care products, a nail product, and a Z-palette, so there was a great variety of stuff.  As always with Glossybox, there was some variation, so you may have received different products.  I believe everyone received the NCLA pen and the Doucce palette and blush.

This month, Glossybox allowed subscribers to choose their box color!  The box had a special tropical design.  Subscribers could choose from pink and orange (which is the color of mine above), red and blue, green and blue, and purple and yellow.  I had a hard time choosing between pink and orange and purple and yellow, but I thought I had settled on purple and yellow as it was a little different.  I've heard a lot of people complain that Glossybox sent them the wrong box color, so there's a good chance I really did pick the purple and yellow.  It's still pretty, though, and it's just a box, so I'm not upset about it.  I really disliked the red and blue and I didn't like the blue and green all that much, so I would have been more annoyed if I had gotten one of those colors.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

First up, we have a full size Figs and Rouge Avancé+ Invisible Pores Night Detox Micro Refining Serum.  This is a serum that contains witch hazel and aloe.  It's supposed to clean out and minimize pores and promote collagen production.  This has helped clear up my face and make it look better than it has in a couple weeks!  

FullSizeRender.jpg

Dr. Pawpaw Multipurpose Soothing Balm can be used for just about anything.  Dr. Pawpaw suggests using it for lips, skin, nails and cuticles, diaper cream, sunburns, bug bites, minor cuts, and for smoothing hair and eyebrows.  It contains pawpaw fruit and aloe to promote healing.  I have been using it as a lip balm and have been impressed by it.  It would be amazing in the winter for my dry, cracked hands and chapped lips.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

I love NCLA's nail polish, so I was excited to see one of their products in this box.  Clean Up Your Act is a little pen of sorts that contains nail polish remover.  There's a disposable tip that you can use to clean up stray bits of nail polish surrounding your nails when you give yourself a manicure.  I can't give myself a neat manicure for the life of me, so I've been wanting to try a product like this after seeing something similar on Julep's site.  These little tips won't clean up a big mess and it won't take care of old, dried-on nail polish, but it'll help you get rid of a couple of stray marks.  NCLA recommends wiping the polish off of the tip to make each tip last longer.  The pen comes with three extra tips (four tips total), so you'll be able to use it multiple times.  It makes doing my nails so much easier!  I usually wait for my polish to dry then pick off the excess polish, but now I don't have to!  Some people are naturally talented at putting nail polish on, and, if you're one of those people, you won't need this.  If you're like me, though, you'll never want to do another manicure again without this!  

FullSizeRender.jpg

When I opened my Glossybox this month, all I could smell was coconut!  The Luseta Coconut Milk Shampoo and Conditioner have a pretty strong coconut scent, which I love.  It's the perfect summer scent.  Besides smelling amazing, these left my hair moisturized, looking shiny, and feeling extra soft!  At $14 for a full size, it's not cheap, but it's also far from expensive as far as shampoo and conditioner go.  It's worth the price!

FullSizeRender.jpg

I've tried a couple products from LaRoche-Posay's Toleriane line, but this is my first time trying their Hydrating Gentle Cleanser.  This is a cream cleanser that is very gentle and moisturizing, as you probably guessed from the name.  It's for normal to dry skin, so this is probably something that would be better for me in the winter.  My skin can be greasy in the summer and dry in the winter, so I don't really need a moisturizing cleanser right now.  I liked it, though, and will save it for when my skin starts to get dry again.

FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of Doucce Freematic Blush Mono in Summer Sunset 

Swatch of Doucce Freematic Blush Mono in Summer Sunset 

Finally, Glossybox sent a Doucce Z-palette and a blush.  Z-palettes are empty palettes with magnets in them.  You put whichever makeup pans you want into them to make your own custom palette.  They're great for travel!  Doucce makes a line of blush and eyeshadow that come in pans so that you can get one of their Z-palettes and put together your own palette.  Glossybox and Doucce made a special Glossybox-branded Z-palette for this box.  They included one blush, Summer Sunset, which is a beautiful matte pinky-peach that has excellent pigment and pretty good staying power.  I love the color!  It was very flattering on me.  Doucce is overdone in subscription boxes, so I am usually not that excited to see yet another one of their products, but I was impressed by this blush.  Glossybox is going to be sending another Doucce blush pan to subscribers in the August box to help you fill your Z-palette.  Subscribers can choose their color.  If you go to Glossybox's page and sign into your account, go to Surveys and you can choose either Pink Beach or Vintage Mauve.  They're both beautiful colors, so it's a hard choice!  If you don't want to decide, Glossybox will surprise you.  I'm not sure when the survey closes, so act quickly if you are a current subscriber and want to choose your August blush color.

This is the best Glossybox I've had in a very long time!  I loved every product!  If I had to choose favorites, it would be NCLA's Clean Up Your Act and the Doucce Z-palette and blush.  Glossybox has had some lackluster boxes in the past year, so I'm happy to see a box that reminds me of the old Glossybox.  I hope they keep it up!  

What did you think of the July Glossybox?  Did you get the same products?

DermStore BeautyFix Review, July 2017

DermStore BeautyFix, $24.95 per month (US only)

IMG_2315.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

This bun was feeling a little shy!

DermStore BeautyFix is a subscription box that sends subscribers $100+ worth of products each month.  All subscribers receive the same products with occasional scent or color variation.  Most months, you'll get multiple skincare products, a makeup product, a beauty tool, and sometimes a hair or nail product.  You'll get at least six products, sometimes as many as eleven.  BeautyFix is very heavy on skincare and is great for women who are 30+ and interested in fighting signs of aging.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what came in the July DermStore BeautyFix box:

My July box was worth about $108.90.  The size of the C E Ferulic was not listed, so I had to estimate the value.  This month, we got a beauty tool, one makeup product, one hair product, a bath product, and five skincare products.  The value is on the low side this month.  BeautyFix boxes are always worth at least $100 and this is just over the minimum value.  The samples are on the small side this month, too.

FullSizeRender.jpg

BeautyFix has been included Daily Concepts products a lot lately.  I like them a lot, so I'm okay with that!  The Your Facial Micro Scrubber is a cushion-y pad in a pocket.  You can put your fingers in the pocket to scrub your face.  One side is soft and one side is a little rougher to give you some exfoliation.  I prefer the softer side as the exfoliating side is a little on the rough side for me.  Like all Daily Concepts products, there's a suction cup so you can hang your scrubber up and there's also a tag that fades when the scrubber needs to be replaced.

FullSizeRender.jpg

The Peter Thomas Roth Cucumber Gel Mask is very moisturizing.  You apply the gel to your face and neck, allow to set for ten minutes, then rinse.  It's the perfect thing to use after a day in the sun!  Peter Thomas Roth suggests leaving it in the fridge to give you an extra cooling sensation.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

I've tried Vichy's Minéral 89 before and wasn't all that impressed.  I'm still not.  I like a good, lightweight moisturizer in the summer, but this is too lightweight even for me!  This contains mineralized thermal water and hyaluronic acid.  It's a very thin gel and it feels like I'm putting water on my face.  It didn't feel moisturizing to me.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

Glytone is a brand you'll see pretty often in BeautyFix. I was expecting the Exfoliating Body Wash to have some beads or grit for exfoliation, but the cream is very smooth and uses glycolic acid to exfoliate.  It has a light, beachy scent to it that I love.  This is supposed to be great for people with body acne and keratosis pilaris.  I don't have either of those problems, fortunately, but it still felt good on my skin.

FullSizeRender.jpg

I love Skin and Co. Roma's Truffle Therapy line!  I've tried the Eye Concentrate a number of times, but I'm always happy to get more.  The scent of the products in the line is amazing.  It's both moisturizing and anti-aging.  If you're in the market for a new eye cream, I recommend this.

FullSizeRender.jpg

SkinCeuticals is another brand you'll see often in BeautyFix boxes.  It's an expensive line, so the samples tend to be on the small side.  While they are of excellent quality, all the products I've tried of theirs smell terrible!  The C E Ferulic smells like something burnt.  I have to cover it up with a scented moisturizer immediately.  If you don't cover it up with another scent, the weird burnt smell will stick around for a while.  This is a daytime serum that contains ferulic acid and vitamins C and E.  It's brightening and anti-aging.  I've only used it for a limited time, but it seems to work well.  That said, I would never spend $165 on a serum that smelled so bad!  I wish SkinCeuticals found a way to give their products a better scent.

FullSizeRender.jpg

This is my second time getting Erno Laszlo's Light Controlling Lotion.  When I got it the first time, I initially thought it was supposed to be a very lightweight moisturizer as it's called a lotion.  It's actually a toner, though, so I really don't understand why they call it a lotion.  You use this after cleansing your face and it will get off any remaining dirt or makeup, brighten your skin, and fight signs of aging.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

SHOW Beauty's Finishing Spray gives you light hold, plus it protects your hair from sun, heat, and chemicals, and it moisturizes your hair.  I don't need hold, but I like that it moisturizes my hair and gives it a little shine.  This isn't a product that I need, so I don't imagine I will use it much.  It's supposed to be great for frizzy hair, so check this out if you have frizz.

FullSizeRender.jpg
Jane Iredale PurePressed Eye Shadow in Forest

Jane Iredale PurePressed Eye Shadow in Forest

Subscribers got the Jane Iredale PurePressed Eye Shadow in Forest, Mermaid, or Steamy.  I got Forest, a medium-deep green.  The pigment was okay, but not amazing.  It stayed on all day with my eyeshadow primer.  I don't wear green eyeshadow all that often, but I'll use it occasionally for a little different look.  I have green eyes, so the look can be quite dramatic.  While this isn't a color I would have chosen for myself, I'll use it.  The formula goes on smoothly and is easy to blend and work with.

This was an okay month for BeautyFix.  It wasn't my favorite month, but there were a few good products in there.  I liked the Daily Concepts scrubber, Peter Thomas Roth mask, Glytone body wash, Skin and Co. Roma eye cream, and Erno Laszlo toner.  The Vichy Minéral 89 is too light a moisturizer even for me.  The SkinCeuticals C E Ferulic seems to be an amazing product, but I can't get past the horrible smell.  I liked the Jane Iredale eyeshadow and thought the color was okay, but I would have preferred a different color.  The SHOW Beauty Finishing Spray was good, but not something I need.  

What did you think of the July BeautyFix box?

ipsy Review, July 2017

ipsy, $10 per month for US orders; add $4.95 shipping for Canadian orders

IMG_2413.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

This sweet baby bun thought the July ipsy bag was the perfect size to sit in!  

ipsy is a monthly beauty subscription that costs only $10 per month.  Subscribers receive five items each month plus a cute makeup bag.  ipsy customizes the products based on subscriber profiles, but they tend to be heavier on makeup than skincare.  You'll get a mix of both drugstore and higher end brands in an ipsy bag.  Most items are deluxe sample size and occasionally even full size. 

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what I got this month:

My July ipsy was worth $41.04.  That's on the lower side for ipsy, but not bad at all for a $10 subscription!  I got three makeup items and two skincare products this month.  

FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg

When I first saw the Gudetama bag design, I wasn't impressed.  When I saw the back, though, I loved it!  Gudetama has a little butt!  It's so cute.  You'll also notice that the zipper pull says "meh..."  If you're not familiar with Gudetama, it's a lazy egg.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

I like Caudalie products, so I was happy to see the Vinosource Moisturizing Sorbet in my ipsy bag!  Caudalie calls it a "gel-cream," which is pretty accurate -- it's a thin cream that turns into a gel when applied to your skin.  It's moisturizing, but not too thick and heavy, so it's perfect for summer.  The formula is anti-aging.  I love how this smells!  At $39, this isn't extraordinarily expensive for a moisturizer.  It's definitely worth it!

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of Ciaté Wonderwand Gel-Kohl Hybrid Eyeliner in Black

Swatch of Ciaté Wonderwand Gel-Kohl Hybrid Eyeliner in Black

More black eyeliner!  I can never go a month without black eyeliner, it seems.  The Ciaté Wonderwand Gel-Kohl Hybrid Eyeliner goes on smooth like a gel and is easy to handle like kohl.  One end of the pencil has a teeny brush so you can smudge your liner if you desire.  Once this is on, it's on for the day!  I was impressed with the formula, but I wish I had gotten a different color.  This reminds me a lot of my favorite eyeliner, Julep's When Pencil Met Gel.  

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of Seraphine Botanicals Lychee and Gold 

Swatch of Seraphine Botanicals Lychee and Gold 

I got the Seraphine Botanicals Happy Hibiscus Blush in my June 2016 ipsy and liked the formula. The dusty rose color was okay, but not my favorite. I like the Lychee and Gold Healthy Glow Rose-Gold Blush much more!  The color is more flattering on me.  It's a soft, rosy pink with a touch of gold.  It reminds me of a slightly pinker version of NARS Orgasm.  It was easy to work with, blended out well, and stayed on all day.

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of Winky Lux Double Matte Liquid Lipstick in Angel Food

Swatch of Winky Lux Double Matte Liquid Lipstick in Angel Food

I wish ipsy would stop sending me nude lipsticks!  The Winky Lux Double Matte Liquid Lipstick in Angel Food is a peachy nude.  It's just not a good color on me.  It's a shade peacher than my natural lip color and it ends up making me look a little washed out.  I couldn't bring myself to wear it out of the house.  Its staying power is okay, but not as good as many other liquid lipsticks I've tried.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Finally, we have the tarte cosmetics Rainforest of the Sea Deep Dive Cleansing Gel.  I love tarte, so I'm always happy to try a new tarte product!  This is a brightening facial cleanser that removes waterproof makeup.   It made my skin feel squeaky clean but not dried out.  This is the perfect cleanser for summer!

When I saw what I was getting in ipsy this month, I wasn't all that excited.  Now that I've tried everything, though, I'm happier with the products than I expected to be.  The only product that was a miss was the Winky Lux lipstick.  The color didn't work for me. The tarte cleanser and Caudalie moisturizer were my favorite products, but I liked the Seraphine Botanicals blush quite a bit, too.  The Ciaté eyeliner worked well, but I would have preferred a color other than black.  I was expecting to hate this month's bag, but Gudetama's little butt made me love it!  

What did you think of the July ipsy?  What products did you get?