ipsy Review, June 2017

ipsy, $10 per month for US orders; add $4.95 shipping for Canadian orders

IMG_0116.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

I took this picture less than a week ago and this little one already looks so much different!  It's starting to look like a mini version of an adult bunny!  

ipsy is a monthly beauty subscription that costs only $10 per month.  Subscribers receive five items each month plus a cute makeup bag.  ipsy customizes the products based on subscriber profiles, but they tend to be heavier on makeup than skincare.  You'll get a mix of both drugstore and higher end brands in an ipsy bag.  Most items are deluxe sample size and occasionally even full size. 

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what I got this month:

My June ipsy was worth $65.98.  That's over 6.5 times the price of the bag!  I got three makeup products, a skincare product, and a nail polish.  It was a little heavy on makeup, but that's common for ipsy and I'm okay with that.  Three of the products were also full size!

The bag design this month wasn't my favorite.  It reminds me a bit of a Thursday Friday bag that Glossybox sent a couple of years ago.  It's just very plain this month.

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of NYX Professional Makeup Whipped Lip and Cheek Soufflé in Pink Cloud

Swatch of NYX Professional Makeup Whipped Lip and Cheek Soufflé in Pink Cloud

First up, we have the NYX Professional Makeup Whipped Lip and Cheek Soufflé in Pink Cloud.  I didn't like this on my lips at all.  It had very little pigment and it didn't go on all that smoothly.  It gave my cheeks a natural pink tint to them.  I liked it much more as a blush.  It had a weird smell to it, though, that almost reminded me of Play-Doh.  The scent bothered me, but it wasn't all that strong, and I didn't notice it after it had been on my cheeks for a minute.

FullSizeRender.jpg

I love Hey Honey!  The Hey Honey Take it off! Mask is one of my favorite masks ever, so I couldn't wait to try their new mask, Uncover.  Uncover contains Dead Sea mud and propolis.  The mud draws out impurities from the skin and keeps oiliness in check and the propolis kills off acne-causing bacteria.  That's exactly what I need this time of year!  You apply the mud to your face, allow it to set for ten to fifteen minutes, then rinse.  This left my skin feeling much less oily, but not too dry, and my skin felt extra smooth and soft.  I wouldn't recommend this for people with dry skin, but, if you have oily or combination skin, you'll love this mask.  Even if you have really oily skin, you'll want to apply a moisturizer after rinsing the mask off.

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of PEEK Beauty Multi-use Black Primer

Swatch of PEEK Beauty Multi-use Black Primer

PEEK Beauty's Multi-use Black Primer is supposed to keep your eye makeup in place all day and deepen the color a bit.  This didn't work quite as well as Urban Decay's eyeshadow primer, but it worked pretty well.  I noticed a slight deepening effect with light colors shadows, but there wasn't much of an effect with medium or dark eyeshadows.  ipsy also recommends using it to deepen lipstick colors or use on its own as an eyeshadow.  The worst thing about this, though, was the packaging!  This is probably the worst packaging that I've ever encountered.  The tin has a very thin cover and bottom and it's just about impossible to get a grip on either one.  It took me a long time just to get the tin open.  I'm sure a lot of subscribers just gave up on trying to get it open and weren't even able to try the product.  While I called this product full size, it's not packaged like the product PEEK sells.  The amount of product in the tin was the same as the amount listed for the full size on PEEK's website, but the product they sell is a tin with a cover that slides off and that contains a white primer and a black primer. The total weight of the product with both primers is the same as the sample.  It's possible that is incorrect, but that's what they have listed.

FullSizeRender.jpg

PÜR Fully Charged Magnetic Mascara is supposed to cover your lashes with a "positively charged electric veil," which is supposed to lift and separate the lashes.  It also contains vitamins to condition your lashes.  I found it gave me a lot of length and just a little bit of volume.  It didn't clump.  I prefer length to volume when it comes to mascara, so I liked the results.  If volume is what you're looking for, this won't be the mascara for you. 

FullSizeRender.jpg

I love Trust Fund Beauty nail polish, so I get excited when ipsy sends another full size one out!  That said, this color wasn't for me.  It looks pretty in the picture, but, in real life, it looks like a slightly more coral shade of hunter orange.  It's very bright!  This would be a good color for a day at the beach, but I can't see myself wearing it.  Trust Fund Beauty's nail polish formula is amazing -- you just need one to two coats for full coverage and the polish stays on my nails for a few days without significant chipping.  

This was a good month, but not a great month, for ipsy.  The Hey Honey mask was my favorite product, but I also really liked the mascara.  The NYX product and the PEEK primer were mostly misses.  I love Trust Fund Beauty, but the Game Changer color just wasn't for me.  The bag was also one of my least favorite ipsy bag designs.

What did you think of the June ipsy?  Did you get better products than me?

FabFitFun Review, Summer 2017

FabFitFun, $49.99 per quarter (free shipping to continental US; add $8 for shipping to Hawaii, Alaska, Puerto Rico, and Canada)

IMG_0459.JPG
IMG_0452.JPG

These cute baby buns are two-week-old Holland Lops.  They just opened their eyes a few days ago and are starting to get more active.  They're just the sweetest little things.

FabFitFun is a quarterly lifestyle box that sends subscribers a mix of beauty products, jewelry, accessories, fitness products, and home goods.  All subscribers receive the same products with some color and/or scent variations.  If you're a yearly subscriber, FabFitFun allows you to choose the variations you would like.  The box always has a value of $200+.  FFF also has a charity they partner with each quarter.  FabFitFun also has add ons each quarter.  They are products sold at a heavily discounted price that you can purchase during the weeks leading up to next quarter's box and have shipped with your box.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what I got:

My Summer 2017 FabFitFun box was worth $295.34.  There were some variations this time, so yours may be worth a little more or less. I was able to choose my variations for the box above.

I got a second FabFitFun box as an add on.  I was not able to choose the variations I got for this box.  Here are the products I got in the second box:

FullSizeRender.jpg

My second box was worth $281.84.  All subscribers could choose The Chef (salt kit), The Artist (art kit), or The Traveler (a passport holder and luggage tag set worth $28) and either beauty (dry shampoo) or fitness (massage oil) -- making the boxes worth between $281.84 and $297.34, depending on the options selected.  Annual subscribers were able to choose the color of their ruana, bkr bottle, and necklace.  All subscribers received the same eye cream, sunscreen, highlighter, and collagen sample.

FullSizeRender.jpg
Michael Stars Tile Inspired Print Convertible Ruana

Michael Stars Tile Inspired Print Convertible Ruana

FullSizeRender.jpg
Michael Stars Batik Print Convertible Ruana

Michael Stars Batik Print Convertible Ruana

Annual subscribers could choose the color of their Michael Stars ruana.  The options were Tile Inspired (tan, orange, and purple), Batik (blue and white), or Alligator Tie Dye (black and white).  I liked all three colors, so it was a hard decision.  I opted for the Tile Inspired in my subscription box and then I got the Batik in my add on box.  These can be draped over you like a beach coverup, wrapped around your waist like a sarong, or used as a scarf.  FabFitFun also suggests tying it onto your purse handle, but it seems a little big for that.  I like that these work as cute beach coverups and sarongs in the summer, but that you can use them year-round as a scarf.  The prints are cute and a little different.  I love these!

Each quarter, FabFitFun partners with a different charity and one of the items in the box is related to that charity.  This quarter, the charity was Joyful Heart Foundation, which is an organization Mariska Hargitay founded to help survivors of sexual assault, domestic violence, and child abuse.  I love Mariska Hargitay and think her foundation does amazing work.  25% of the price of each ruana Michael Stars sells will go to the Joyful Heart Foundation.  The three ruana colors featured in this quarter's box were made especially for FabFitFun and Joyful Heart. 

FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg

I chose the Kris Nations Mystic Bar Necklace in turquoise and gold for my subscription box, and the peach moonstone and gold came in my add on box.  The third option was white howlite and silver.  I wanted both the turquoise and the peach and had no interested in the howlite, so I'm happy!  The necklace is a lot more delicate than I thought it would be!  The stones are a lot smaller than they looked in the pictures.  The necklaces are very cute, though, and can go with a lot of things.  You can even layer them.  According to Kris Nations, the turquoise is supposed to "promote balance, discovery, and confidence," and the moonstone "provides strength, inner peace, and growth."  

FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg

The third product annual subscribers could choose the color of was the bkr bottle.  The options were Rosy (bright pink) or Romeo (bright blue).  I didn't really care which color I got, but I selected Rosy for my subscription box and Romeo came in the add on box.  I got my first bkr bottle in the spring The Zoe Report Box of Style.  I like these bottles a lot, so I was happy to get a couple more.  The bottles are glass and covered with silicone.  They're good at keeping your drinks cold.  My one complaint is that I think that the bottle top looks a little cheap for a $35 water bottle, but it is sturdy and doesn't seem like it will break easily.

FullSizeRender.jpg

I've gotten Juice Beauty's Smoothing Eye Concentrate in a number of boxes before, so I was a little surprised to see it in this quarter's box.  FabFitFun is usually good about including new items and this product has been around for a while.  That said, this is one of the few Juice Beauty products I like.  The scent of the product isn't that strong, unlike some Juice Beauty products, and it is very moisturizing, but never greasy.  It absorbs quickly.  I didn't need two more of these, so I'll probably pass at least one along to my mom, who loves Juice Beauty.

FullSizeRender.jpg

June is the month for sunscreen in beauty boxes!  I've gotten tons this month!  The Eau Thermale Avène sunscreen and most of the other sunscreens I've gotten this month have been for the face.  I wish we got more sunscreens for the whole body.  This sunscreen is thin and lightweight, so it's perfect for putting under your makeup.  It absorbed fully and it was easy to apply my makeup over it.  It had a faint sunscreen scent to it, but it wasn't fragranced.  I love that it is SPF 50+!  Sun damage is one of the things that ages your skin the most, so a good sunscreen is even more important than an anti-aging moisturizer.  It's a lot easier to prevent signs of aging than it is to reverse it.

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of Cargo Cosmetics Cargo_HD Picture Perfect Highlighter

Swatch of Cargo Cosmetics Cargo_HD Picture Perfect Highlighter

Cargo Cosmetics Cargo_HD Picture Perfect Highlighter was a little too dark for me to use as a highlighter.  The powder goes on very smoothly, gave me a great finish, and held up all day. I won't be able to use this as a highlighter, but I could use it as an eyeshadow.  It gave me shimmer without being glittery or too bright.  This color should work for most complexions, just not those of us who are very pale.  If you got this and you're thinking about trading it or giving it as a gift, be sure to open it up and check it first as many have arrived broken in boxes.  FabFitFun has amazing customer service, so they'll be happy to send you a replacement if yours came broken.

FullSizeRender.jpg

FabFitFun has always allowed annual subscribers to choose product variations, but, beginning in the spring, they began offering all subscribers a couple of options to choose from.  While seasonal subscribers couldn't choose the color of their bkr, ruana, and necklace, they were able to choose whether they wanted a "beauty boost" or a "fitness boost." FabFitFun gave you a vague description of each option, but they didn't tell you what the actual product was.  They also allowed you to add on the second category for an extra $10 if you wanted both.  At first, I chose the beauty option, but some subscribers did some sleuthing and figured out that the Way of Will Soothe and Cool Peppermint and German Chamomile Post-Training Massage Oil would be the fitness item and the Klorane Dry Shampoo would be the beauty option.  I like massage oils and have more dry shampoo than any one person needs, so I ended up changing my selection to fitness.  

The Way of Will Post-Training Massage Oil is one of my favorite products in the box!  I often have back pain at the end of the day and applying this before bed has made it easier to sleep.  It smells great, too!  It does take some time to absorb, but that's to be expected with a massage oil.  It contains peppermint essential oil, which will give you a little tingling, German chamomile essential oil to cool, lemongrass essential oil to calm and tone the muscles, and jojoba to moisturize your skin.  I highly recommend this oil.

FullSizeRender.jpg

I was sad that I got the Klorane Dry Shampoo with Oat Milk in my second box instead of another bottle of the Way of Will massage oil.  I've gotten more bottles of Klorane Dry Shampoo than I can count in my subscription boxes.  I think this is the first time I've gotten a full size bottle of it, though.  I have to say that this dry shampoo does work very well.  It sops up excess oil and brushes out pretty well so that it doesn't leave a horrible white cast to your hair.  I prefer Klorane's tinted dry shampoo, which is better for those of us with dark hair as it doesn't leave a white cast to hair at all.  I wish that FabFitFun had sent out the tinted dry shampoo or at least sent out the tinted to those with dark hair and the regular to those with blonde hair.  More people have dark hair than blonde hair.  People with dark hair can use this dry shampoo, but you have to really work to make sure all the white powder is gone.

FullSizeRender.jpg

FabFitFun allowed all subscribers to choose their "personality type" and sent you a product based on that personality.  The personality types were The Chef, The Traveler, or The Artist.  You could also add on the other personality types for $10 each if you wanted more than one.  They offered a vague description of the product for each personality type, so you weren't entirely sure what you were choosing.  I chose all three at first, but some subscribers figured out what the products were before the deadline to choose, so I ended up dropping The Artist and The Traveler.  The Chef option ended up being Salted's Himalayan Pink Salt Kit.  It's so cute!  I love salt, so this was perfect for me.  The kit comes with a small wooden cutting board that has a slot for the metal grater plus two big rocks of pink Himalayan salt.  To use this, you grate one of the rocks over anything that needs a little salt.  They recommend using it for finishing a dish.  It's almost too pretty to use.  

FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg

Unfortunately, instead of getting a second salt kit in my add on box, I was sent The Artist product -- the Amy Tangerine "Ready, Set, Create!" Art Kit, which Amy Tangerine made exclusively for FabFitFun.  I thought that The Artist option would be a lot of fun, but I wasn't impressed with this at all.  It seems cheap and I can't believe FabFitFun lists the value as $22.  I could see paying $10 at the most for this kit.  The kit comes with a small canvas, a sponge, a paintbrush, stencils, and six little pots of acrylic paint.  This seems like something maybe a 10- or 12-year-old would love, but it's definitely not for a serious artist.  I'll definitely be passing this along to a kid who would appreciate it.  This definitely ended up being the least popular of the three options!  I see a lot of people trying to trade the art kit for the salt kit.  Everyone seems to want the salt kit.  The third product, which I didn't get, was the Understated Leather On the Road Again Travel Set, which contained a luggage tag and passport holder.  The travel set is okay, but it's not something I really need or want.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Most quarters, FabFitFun sends a sponsored extra sample.  It's the only non-full-size item you'll get in a FabFitFun box.  It's something the company that makes the product pays to have added to the box.  The Vital Proteins Marine Collagen is a powder that you add to your drinks.  It contains collagen for healthy hair, skin, and nails.  It's made from the scales of snappers, so it is not vegetarian.  This is just not something I could bring myself to drink. Has anyone tried it?  If so, what did you think?

In addition to these products, FabFitFun also gives subscribers access to FabFitFun TV, which has workout videos online.  They started FabFitFun TV last quarter and it seems like it is a permanent thing now.  This quarter, they are also giving subscribers a three month subscription to Salted TV, which has cooking shows you can watch online.  I didn't add these to the value of the box.  The Salted subscription is normally $9.99 per month, but the coupon code FabFitFun gives you to get the free three months is generic, so anyone could use it.  The only way to get access to FabFitFun TV is to be a subscriber.  I don't plan on using either.

I loved the summer FabFitFun box!  FabFitFun is one of my favorite subscription boxes.  I wish it was a monthly or bimonthly box instead of quarterly.  The MIchael Stars ruana, the Salted Himalayan Pink Salt Kit, and the Way of Will massage oil were my favorite products this quarter.  I also really liked the sunscreen, necklace, and bkr bottle.  The Klorane dry shampoo, Juice Beauty eye cream, and Cargo highlighter were okay, but not really for me.  The only products I didn't like were the art kit and the collagen.  FabFitFun knocked it out the park again!  The box is still available but they usually do sell out, so, if you're interested, act now.  The link at the top of this article will get you $10 off your first box.

 Did anyone else get this quarter's box?  Which options did you select?  Did you love the box as much as I did?

The Zoe Report Box of Style, Summer 2017

The Zoe Report Box of Style, $99.99 per quarter (free shipping to US; add $15 shipping for UK, Canada, and Australia)

IMG_9750.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

Little Rosita is almost all grown up!  She's not really fitting into the regular boxes anymore.

The Zoe Report Box of Style is a quarterly box curated by Rachel Zoe.  All subscribers receive the same products with perhaps some color and/or scent variation.  The products are a mix of accessories, jewelry, beauty products, and home goods.  The value of the box is $400+ and the products are always full size.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what came in the Summer 2017 The Zoe Report Box of Style:

The summer box was worth $466.95.  The value is always amazing!  We got an article of clothing, two accessories, a jewelry item, a makeup item, and a sunblock this quarter.  It's the perfect summer box!  This quarter, though, they did not have a sponsored extra, which surprised me.

FullSizeRender.jpg

First up, we have the Helena Quinn kimono.  Sorry, it was hard to get a good picture of this!  This was custom-designed for Box of Style and is made of georgette.  The kimono is sheer and lightweight.  It's beautiful!  This can be used over a shirt when you're wearing jeans or shorts, as a beach coverup, or as a robe, so it's quite versatile.  I prefer using it as a beach coverup.  Unfortunately, this kimono comes in only one size, so it won't work for some plus size women.  While I love getting beach coverups in boxes, I wish they would offer subscribers different sizes.  This is a big part of the value of the box and I would be pretty upset if it didn't fit me!  

FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg

Next up, we have the RAEN Durante sunglasses.  Subscribers were able to choose either the black or tortoiseshell color.  Both of the colors were made exclusively for this box.  The Durante comes in black on the RAEN website, but the lens color is different from the one offered by Box of Style.  I had the hardest time choosing the color I wanted!  My first inclination was to go with the tortoiseshell, but then I saw that the black had purplish lenses.  I chose the black, but then there was an issue with my order processing and I had to resubmit the order and I chose tortoiseshell when I resubmitted my order.  Really, though, I would have been happy with either.  These are very over-sized cat-eye glasses, but I love how they look on me.  They really complement my square face.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

I'm not much of a hat person, but I love Sole Society's Straw Panama Hat with Poms!  The teeny pompoms are very on-trend right now.  I've always been told I look good in hats, but I've never enjoyed wearing them.  This is one of the few hats I will actually wear.  I wore this to the beach and it kept the hot sun off my face while still letting me look cute.  I love that Box of Style put together a whole beach look for us this quarter with the kimono, hat, and sunglasses!  

FullSizeRender.jpg

The Brave Collection donates 10% of their profits to fight human trafficking.  The Compass Chain Necklace was made by fair trade artisans in Cambodia.  The necklace is cute, but it isn't really my style.  It's not all that flashy.  If you like delicate, understated pieces, you'll love this necklace.  

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of Beautycounter Color Pinch Cream Blusher in Hibiscus

Swatch of Beautycounter Color Pinch Cream Blusher in Hibiscus

Beautycounter's Color Pinch Cream Blush in Hibiscus has fabulous pigment, as you can see above!  It blends out easily, though, so you can have a beautiful, subtle pink flush of color on your cheeks.  It contains jojoba and carnauba wax, making it moisturizing.  This held up all day and looked very natural. 

FullSizeRender.jpg

Finally, we have Beautycounter's Protect Stick Sunscreen.  I kind of wish they hadn't had two Beautycounter products in one box, but I like them both, so I can live with it.  This sunscreen is water-resistant and contains aloe, shea butter, and coconut and açaí oils, so it's even good for your skin.  It has a soft, sweet scent from the cocoa butter in it.  This is a facial sunblock, but you could use it on your body if needed.  It goes on clear, so it won't give your skin a weird white cast.  This protected my skin from the sun, plus kept my skin hydrated but not oily.  This is one of my favorite facial sunscreens.

The Zoe Report Box of Style was fabulous this summer!  The kimono, glasses, beach hat, and necklace will have you looking cute on the beach, plus you get some sunblock to protect your skin and some blush to complete the look.  I love that they chose products that all go together well instead of just throwing in random items.  The glasses and kimono were my favorite products, with the beach hat close behind them.  I also loved the sunscreen and blush.  The compass necklace isn't quite my style, but I like it and will wear it occasionally.  The box does feel like it is missing something as I am so used to the Box of Style having a small sponsored extra, but I can't really complain about my box not having an extra added bonus.  These boxes are still available, so, if you're looking forward to spending some time on the beach this summer, I recommend subscribing!  

Did anyone else get the summer Box of Style?  Did you love it as much as I loved mine?  

Petit Vour Review, June 2017

Petit Vour, $15 per month for US orders, $23 per month for Canadian orders, $25 per month for other international orders

IMG_0204.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

This teeny little Holland Lop just opened its eyes!  It's right around two-weeks-old and is the cutest thing ever.  It loves that Petit Vour doesn't test on its friends.

Petit Vour is a vegan, cruelty-free beauty box.  Each month, subscribers get four sample size products.  They are often heavier on skincare than makeup, but there is always a mix.  Oftentimes, subscribers get the same products with some scent or color variation, but Petit Vour has had some box variations recently.  You can e-mail them to get a profile to fill out if you subscribe so that they can better customize your boxes. 

Petit Vour sent me this box free of charge for review.  The link above is my affiliate link.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what I got this month:

My June box was worth $33.20.  That's more than double the price of the box, so I am happy with the value.  Two of the products were full size!  We got a makeup item, two skincare products, and a perfume, which is a good mix of products.

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of Modern Minerals Lip Crème Tint in Joyful

Swatch of Modern Minerals Lip Crème Tint in Joyful

First up, we have the Modern Minerals Lip Crème Tint in Joyful.  Subscribers could receive Joyful, Playful (fuchsia), or Blissful (pink).  This is a sheer tint that gives you just a little bit of color.  It's pretty, but I definitely prefer a bolder look.  It's moisturizing and contains lotus wei flower.  It has a soft, floral scent.  I like this, but I would prefer a regular lipstick.  This makes up most of the box's value, so, if you didn't like it, then this box would probably be a miss for you.

FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg

My favorite product was definitely the Mai Couture Skincare Blotting Paper in Bamboo Charcoal.  I've gotten Mai Couture blotting papers before and I loved them, so I am happy to get more. I haven't been able to find the ones I had and my skin gets extra oily this time of year, so these came at the perfect time!  The type of blotting paper subscribers received varied.  There are sixty sheets.  You tear out a sheet and then blot your face wherever needed.  You can use this before applying your makeup, or you can use it after your makeup has been applied without messing your makeup up.  The bamboo charcoal type is supposed to absorb bacteria and toxins.  I'm not all that sure how effective it would be at doing that just by quickly blotting your skin with it, but it sops up the oil well.  If you are in the market for blotting papers, I definitely recommend Mai Couture's.

FullSizeRender.jpg

The Niu Body Makeup Remover Wipes for Normal Skin are big, round cotton pads soaked with coconut, geranium, and lavender oils.  It smells pretty good.  I'm used to my makeup remover wipes having more liquid in them.  These pads were quite dry, but the oils still effectively removed my makeup.  It even took off waterproof eye makeup easiliy!  

FullSizeRender.jpg

The final product was the My Daughter Fragrances Bloom 23 Perfume.  This has vanilla and ylang ylang base notes and gardenia mid notes.  It's very floral, but I like it. It's the perfect scent for summer.

I'm happy with my June Petit Vour!  The Mai Couture Skincare Blotting Papers were my favorite product, but I liked everything in the box.  The lip tint wasn't my favorite, but it's moisturizing and is good to use around the house.  

Did anyone else get the June Petit Vour box?  If so, what did you think?

Mommy Mailbox Review, June 2017

Mommy Mailbox, $33.95 per month (free shipping to US; add $10.50 for shipping to Canada)

IMG_0113.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

These little buns just keep growing and growing! She won't fit in this box next month!

Mommy Mailbox is a monthly box of beauty products, home goods, and snacks.  Don't let the name scare you away -- this isn't just for moms!  The box reminds me a little bit of PopSugar in that it's more of a lifestyle box than a beauty box.  Each month, Mommy Mailbox has a different mom blogger curate the box.  All subscribers receive the same products

Mommy Mailbox sent me this box free of charge for review.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what came in the June Mommy Mailbox:

The June box was worth about $71.90.  I couldn't find the exact same beach coverup on La Leela's website, so I estimated the value by looking at the prices of similar products they sell.  I also couldn't find the luggage tag online as it was a Mommy Mailbox exclusive, so I estimated its value also.  I'm really happy with the value of the box!  We got a good mix of products.  This month's theme was Vacation and the curator was Lisa Fitch, who has a blog called That's So Darling.  

FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg

First up, we have the La Leela Beach Coverup.  I couldn't find this particular coverup on the La Leela website, so it's possible this style was made exclusively for Mommy Mailbox.  The color is a pretty royal blue.  This has cute little pearl buttons on it.  It's made of polyester and it's somewhat transparent.  I wasn't sure what I thought of the design at first, but I liked it a lot when I wore it at the beach.  It's lightweight and dries quickly.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Modish Polish in Malibu Sunset is such a gorgeous color!  It's a fun, sunny pale yellow, perfect for the summer!  This is the second bottle of Modish Polish I've gotten and I'm a fan.  The formula is vegan, cruelty-free, and 5-free.  It held up for a few days without chipping, which is really good for me.  

FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg

We also got a luggage tag to go along with the vacation theme.  This is a good, sturdy tag.  It's something a little different that you don't see in boxes often.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

I wasn't sure what I thought of the lariat necklace trend at first, but, now that I've gotten a few from boxes, I really like it.  The chain is delicate and pretty.  I recommend looping the end around the hoop to keep it from moving around too much when you wear it. 

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of LaRitzy Cosmetics Lip Pencil in Bare

Swatch of LaRitzy Cosmetics Lip Pencil in Bare

LaRitzy used to be a regular subscription box, but, last year, they started their own cosmetics company.  It doesn't look like they put out a subscription box anymore.  I've liked the LaRitzy products I've tried.  The lip pencil has great pigment, holds up all day, and keeps my lipstick from feathering.  I prefer clear lip liners, so I won't get too much use out of this, but I will use it on occasion when I want a colorful liner.

FullSizeRender.jpg

The final product was McCrea's Black Lava Sea Salt Caramels.  I always love getting sweet treats in subscription boxes!  Sadly, I just had some dental work done and have a temporary crown, so I can't eat anything sticky until the permanent crown is put on at the end of the month. I tore off the teeniest piece so I could try it and loved the flavor.  It's a very creamy caramel with just a hint of salt.  I can't wait until I can eat these!

Mommy Mailbox knocked it out of the park again!  The Vacation theme was a lot of fun.  The coverup and necklace were probably my two favorite items, but I loved the nail polish, and liked the lip pencil and luggage tag, too.  I think I'll really love the caramels, but I'll know for sure in a couple of weeks.

What did you think of this month's Mommy Mailbox?

Kloverbox Review, June 2017

Kloverbox, $25 per month (US only)

IMG_9895.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

The buns are growing up too fast!  Look at how little this one was in last month's Kloverbox review!

Kloverbox is a monthly beauty and lifestyle box that focuses on natural products made by small companies.  Each month, Kloverbox has a loose theme and sends subscribers a mix of four to six beauty products, home goods, cleaning products, and/or pieces of jewelry.  This is a great way to discover small businesses that you probably wouldn't encounter on your own.  All subscribers get the same products with occasional color and/or scent variations. 

Kloverbox sent me this box free of charge for review.  The link above is my affiliate link.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what came in the June Kloverbox:

The June Kloverbox was worth $76.74.  That's three times the price of the box, so I'm very happy with the value.  We got a skincare product, a body product, a sunblock, and a snack.  It's the perfect product mix for the beginning of summer!

FullSizeRender.jpg

I love Konjac sponges, so it's always a treat to get a new one.  Konjac sponges are made of a tuber found in Korea.  The sponge comes dry and hard, then you wet it and it becomes soft and gently exfoliating.  You can use it by itself or with a cleanser and there are both face and body sponges.  Once you've finished using it, you squeeze out the water and allow it to dry.  They usually last around two months before they need to be replaced.  Some Konjac sponges are plain, while some, like this pureSOL sponge, have added an extra ingredient to make it even better for your skin.  This is a turmeric one, which is supposed to be anti-aging.  I liked this sponge a lot, but it didn't seem different from a plain Konjac sponge.  It would take quite some time to see anti-aging effects.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

I've seen a lot of Cultivar's products lately.  I like them, so I am happy to get a new one.  The Organic Restorative Body Oil can be used as a regular body oil or you can add it to your bath.  It contains a blend of jojoba, hemp, sea buckthorn, rice bran, evening primrose oil, vitamin E, and essential oils of lavender, palmarosa, cocoa, muhuhu, and ylang ylang.  It has lots of vitamins and antioxidants to help get your skin in top shape.  I was a little worried about using a body oil in this heat, but it absorbs quickly didn't leave me feeling sticky or greasy.  It was exceptionally moisturizing.  The cocoa scent is most prominent, followed by the lavender.  It's not my favorite scent in the world, but I like it.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

June is the month all the subscription boxes send sunblock!  I am stocked up on sunblock for the summer now.  The Z Skin Simply Organic Sunblock has a light, fruity scent to it that I love!  It has zinc to block the sun's rays, plus raspberry, carrot, lemon, citronella, peppermint, orange, kiwi, and tangerine to moisturize, repel insects, even out skin tone, and leave you smelling great.  I used this on a particularly hot and sunny day and experienced no burning.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

The final product was the Patience Fruit and Co. Organic Dried Cranberries.  I love dried cranberries!  These are sweetened with apple juice, so they aren't quite as sweet as Ocean Spray Craisins, but they're just sweet enough.  These are the perfect sweet treat for the summer.

The June Kloverbox was fabulous!  I loved every product in the box.  I liked them all so much that I don't think I can begin to choose a favorite. This is one of my favorite Kloverboxes ever.

What did you think of the June Kloverbox?  Did you have a favorite product?

Goodbeing Review, June 2017

Goodbeing, $9.95-$24.95 per month (ships to US for free, and ships to Australia, Canada, the UK, Denmark, Finland, France, Norway, and Sweden for $6-$9 more)

IMG_9748.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

This little one is bigger than the box now!  Look at it in last month's review!

Goodbeing is a monthly natural beauty box.  Subscribers fill out extensive profiles upon subscribing.  There are some big changes coming for Goodbeing!  Instead of getting the box for $21.95, you can now choose the mini box for $9.95 (with two products) or the standard box (four to five items) for $24.95, and you can choose whether you want a beauty box or a lifestyle box.  If you have the standard box, you'll be able to choose one to two products a month, but you won't be able to with the mini box at this time. The one thing I find annoying about Goodbeing is that you get small product information cards for each product instead of one big card that has all the products on it.  They get lost easily.  I understand, though, that that helps make it so that Goodbeing can personalize boxes more easily, so I'm okay with it as I'd rather have a personalized box than one big card.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what was in my June Goodbeing:

My June Goodbeing was worth $59.86.  That's not bad for a natural box.  It's worth almost three times the price, so no complaints about the value.  I paid $21 for it as they hadn't raised their rates yet for this box.  I'm not sure if they are raising current subscribers' rates at this time or if we are locked in at the old price for now.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

The first product we have is the Pacifica Stunning Brows Eyebrow Gloss and Set in Clear.  This is a brow gel that is supposed to shape your brows and give them some volume.  It shaped my brows well and, unlike some clear brow gels, I didn't have little flakes appear in my brows halfway through the day.  That said, I really prefer my brow products to be tinted so they can fill my brows in a bit.  If you're looking for a good quality clear brow gel, though, this is just what you're looking for.

FullSizeRender.jpg

The ParaKito Mosquito Repellent is a gel that forms a barrier between your skin and mosquitoes, plus the gel masks your scent, making it more difficult for mosquitoes to find you.  It uses citronella, rosemary, geranium, mint, clove, and peppermint oils to naturally keep mosquitoes away.  The mosquitoes haven't gotten bad this year yet, so I have yet to use bug repellent.  I haven't had a chance to try this out, but I am looking forward to it.  Has anyone else tried it?  If so, does it work well?

FullSizeRender.jpg

Skin Owl's Neck+ is a gel that you apply to your neck and chest to tighten skin and minimize lines.  The sample size is pretty small, so it is hard to see any real results.  It was moisturizing, but it had a bit of a sticky feeling for a few minutes after I applied it.  I would prefer a cream to a gel.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Blissoma's Flawless Equalizing Anti-Blemish Oil Serum might seem a little weird to you at first as it is an oil-based serum for acne.  It contains oils of hemp, cranberry seed, watermelon seed, blackberry seed, tamanu, and sacha inchi, plus vitamin E and calendula extract.  This serum is anti-aging, and helps prevent and kill off acne while promoting healing.  I was really impressed by how quickly this helped me take care of a mini breakout.  My pimples disappeared and healed within a couple of days.  I know it seems counterintuitive to use an oily serum on your oily skin, but it really does work.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

The final product was a perfume sample from Prim Botanicals.  Flor Oscura has notes of rose, sandalwood, and amber.  I like some floral scents, but this is a little more floral than I would have liked.  It is very heavy on the rose.  I don't hate it, but I don't love it.  If you love rose scents, this will be the perfect perfume for you.  This is an expensive little perfume, though!  It's a perfume oil, not an eau de parfum, so that's why it's pricier.  $42 may not seem like a lot for a perfume, but it is when you consider that it's a 5 ml bottle and not a 100 ml bottle.

The June box was just okay for me.  I loved the Blissoma serum and I'm excited to try the mosquito repellent, but the other products were misses.  The perfume wasn't horrible, but it's just not my style.  The Skin Owl Neck+ was okay, but I wish it were a cream instead of a gel because I don't like the slightly tacky feeling it leaves behind for a few minutes.  I really prefer a tinted brow product, so the Pacifica brow gel wasn't my favorite.  

Did anyone else get the June Goodbeing?  What did you think?

Glossybox Review, June 2017

Glossybox, $21 per month (has many international versions)

IMG_9421.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

This sweet little bun loves modeling.  She's always up for sitting in a box and posing.  She's a lot easier to work with than her brothers!

Glossybox is a beauty box that sends subscribers five to six products each month.  The samples are often full size or deluxe sample size.  You tend to get more skincare than makeup in this box, but there is always a mix.  Glossybox used to send mostly higher end brands, but their boxes for the past year have included a lot of brands I've never heard of.  Glossybox likes to include products from European brands that don't sell their products in the U.S., so, if there is a product I really like, I may not be able to buy it.  There is a lot of product variation, so some subscribers receive boxes that are worth much more than those other subscribers receive.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what came in my June Glossybox:

My June Glossybox was worth $92.71, which is pretty good for Glossybox.  It's one of the higher value boxes I've gotten from them recently.  I got two makeup products, a hair product, a sunblock, and a makeup brush.  There was a lot of variation this month, so you may have gotten different products.

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of Julep Your Lip Addiction Tinted Lip Oil Treatment in Obsessed

Swatch of Julep Your Lip Addiction Tinted Lip Oil Treatment in Obsessed

It looks like all subscribers got a Julep product this month.  Most got the tinted lip oil, but some received a nail polish.  I wish I had gotten the polish!  If you want an oil treatment for your lips, you'll love this, but, if you're looking for color, this won't be for you.  I don't even know why they bother tinting the oil as you can't see the color once it is on your lips.  As you can see in the swatch above, the color is barely there.  It was very moisturizing and wasn't sticky at all, so I'll use it before bed when my lips are feeling dry.

FullSizeRender.jpg

The INOAR Argan Oil Treatment Oil is supposed to hydrate your hair, make it shinier, keep frizz down, and protect it from heat styling.  I like argan oil products, so I was happy to get this in the box.  It made my hair look shiny without weighing it down.  I don't have a problem with frizz and I don't heat style, but I'm always happy to have a little extra shine.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

You always get lots of sunscreen in June boxes!  I've gotten at least five this month.  The SKINN Collagenesis Daily Defense SPF 30 is a facial sunscreen absorbs quickly.  It's moisturizing and contains vitamins A, C, and E.  It's also fragrance-free.  I used this on my face before spending the whole day outside in the hot sun for Syracuse Pride yesterday and my skin didn't burn at all.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

All subscribers got an OMG Brush from The Crème Shop, but the brush type varied.  I got the Contour Concealer Brush.  The brush is for applying liquid contour and concealer.  It is soooo soft!  It feels like silk on my face.  It gave me a flawless looking finish.  I was really impressed by this brush.  It's quite inexpensive, so it's worth a try if you are looking for a good paddle brush.

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of Bang Beauty Dolce Pink Cream Color

Swatch of Bang Beauty Dolce Pink Cream Color

All subscribers also received the Bang Beauty Dolce Pink Cream Color.  As you can see in the swatch above, this is a little lacking in the pigment department.  I had to build it up to get the color you see in the picture.  It's a good, subtle blush, though, and it held up all day.  If you want a light flush of pink, you'll like this product, but I prefer something a little bolder.  I don't like dark blush, but I like something slightly darker than this that I can blend out.  

This wasn't my favorite Glossybox ever, but it wasn't bad.  The OMG brush and the Skinn sunscreen were my favorite products, but I also liked the INOAR Argan Oil.  The Bang Beauty blush and the Julep lip oil were okay, but I would have liked a little more dramatic color from both products.  

What did you think of the June Glossybox?  Did you get the same products?

DermStore BeautyFix Review, June 2017

DermStore BeautyFix, $24.95 per month (US only)

IMG_9507.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

This little one is too photogenic!  She thought she was modeling for BunnyFix, though, so she was a little disappointed.

DermStore BeautyFix is a subscription box that sends subscribers $100+ worth of products each month.  All subscribers receive the same products with occasional scent or color variation.  Most months, you'll get multiple skincare products, a makeup product, a beauty tool, and sometimes a hair or nail product.  You'll get at least six products, sometimes as many as eleven.  BeautyFix is very heavy on skincare and is great for women who are 30+ and interested in fighting signs of aging.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what was in the June DermStore BeautyFix box:

The June box was worth about $114.47.  I had to estimate the value of the SkinCeuticals product as the size wasn't marked on the package.  It's not the highest value BeautyFix I've seen, but it's not bad.  We got a beauty tool this month, which is great!  BeautyFix has been skipping them some months recently.  Besides the beauty tool, there were four skincare products, a sunscreen, a makeup item, and a dental care product this month.

FullSizeRender.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg

I've heard a lot about microneedling, but I had never tried it before.  If you're not familiar with it, you're supposed to run the tool across your face in all directions and the teeny needles are supposed to open your skin up a bit to make serums and moisturizers absorb better.  I've heard some people say it works well for them and others say that the needles are too short to penetrate the skin enough for it to be effective.  I tried it and it hurt a little at first, but less than I was expecting.  My skin felt pretty sore after and was a little red for a few hours after using this, so you might not want to do it right before you go out.  I haven't used this enough to see a real difference, so I'm not sure how well it works.  Has anyone else tried microneedling?  If so, does it work well for you?

FullSizeRender.jpg

I love Paula's Choice, so getting one of their products in a box is always a treat.  The Sun Care spray goes on in a mist that gives you pretty good coverage, but you'll want to rub it in to ensure you're fully covered.  I was out in the sun with this and didn't burn, so I was happy with how it worked.  I think the spray is easier to use than a gel or cream.

FullSizeRender.jpg

The H2O+ Beauty Aquadefense Refining Matcha Detox Mask is a dark green gel that you apply to your face, let dry for 15 minutes, then you peel it off.  I love peel off masks!  They're so much fun.  You want to make sure that the layer isn't too thin or it will make peeling difficult.  This is supposed to be moisturizing and pore minimizing, plus it's supposed to protect your skin from pollutants.  It left my skin feeling tight (in a good way) and lightly moisturized.  I loved this mask!  I highly recommend it if you are looking for a good mask.

FullSizeRender.jpg

BeautyFix had the Supersmile Professional Whitening System in a box before.  That is one thing I don't like about BeautyFix -- you'll occasionally get the exact same product as you got in a previous box.  To use the Supersmile system, you apply a drop of the toothpaste and a drop of the accelerator to your toothbrush and then brush your teeth.  Unfortunately, the samples are too small to see any whitening effect, but it tasted good and made my teeth feel clean.  If I'm going to spend $36 on a toothpaste, I want to make sure it works, so I wish they had sent bigger samples.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

The La Roche-Posay Toleriane Double Repair Moisturizer is supposed to hydrate and brighten your skin and minimize oiliness.  It can be hard to find the right moisturizer this time of year as my T-zone goes into oil production overdrive.  This moisturizer was perfect, though -- it was a lightweight moisturizer that helped keep my oil in check.  Best of all, at $19.99 for the full size, it's quite affordable.  I was surprised, though, that they gave us such a small sample of a product that is so inexpensive.

FullSizeRender.jpg

It seems like BeautyFix includes a Dermalogica product most months.  I was thinking that I had tried the Nightly Lip Treatment before, but I checked and didn't see it.  You're supposed to apply this to your lips after cleansing and toning your face and before going to bed.  It was very moisturizing, but I didn't find it worked any better than regular Chapstick.

FullSizeRender.jpg

SkinCeuticals is another brand you see quite often in BeautyFix boxes.  The Resveratrol B E is an anti-aging serum.  I find a lot of SkinCeuticals products have a weird scent and this was no exception.  Fortunately, the scent goes away once it is absorbed.  It was moisturizing, but didn't make my skin feel oily.  I would have to use this for an extended period of time to see anti-aging effects, but resveratrol is fabulous for your skin, so I imagine it works well.

FullSizeRender.jpg
Swatch of Laura Geller Pout Perfection in Spice

Swatch of Laura Geller Pout Perfection in Spice

The final product was the Laura Geller Pout Perfection Waterproof Lip Liner in Spice.  We got this exact same lip liner in the June 2016 box.  I got Fawn last time and Spice this time.  The colors subscribers received varied. Spice is a little darker and more dramatic than Fawn.  I like clear lip liners, so this wasn't really for me.  It did hold up all day and it really is waterproof, so, if you like colored liners, you'll love this.

This month's BeautyFix box was good, but not great.  There were two repeat products.  I'm not sure why BeautyFix does that.  That said, I loved the microneedler, the Paula's Choice sunblock, and the H2O+ Beauty mask.  The other products were okay, but not amazing. 

What did you think of the June BeautyFix box?

Terra Bella Box Review, June 2017

Terra Bella Box, $32.95 per month (free shipping for US addresses; see website for international shipping rates)

IMG_9509.JPG
FullSizeRender.jpg

I can't believe how fast these little ones are growing!  This cutie, a six-week-old  Holland Lop, almost fills the Terra Bella Box!

Terra Bella Box is a monthly natural, cruelty-free beauty box that features products made by small businesses.  Subscribers receive three to four skincare, hair care, and/or bath products per month.  Terra Bella has started a second box, The Makeup Edit, so if you prefer makeup products to skincare, that might be the box for you.  Subscribers are able to switch back and forth between The Makeup Edit and Terra Bella subscriptions if they want.  The Makeup Edit is $29.95 per month, so it's a little cheaper than Terra Bella.  

Terra Bella Box sent me this box free of charge for review.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Here's what was in the June Terra Bella Box:

The June Terra Bella was worth $49.79.  I'm happy with the value.  This month, we got two bath products, a nail polish, and a hand soap, so it's a good mix of products.  It's something a little different, which I like.  

FullSizeRender.jpg

I can never get enough bath bombs, so I was happy to see one in this month's box!  This bath bomb contains shea and cocoa butters, aloe vera, sweet almond oil, vitamin E, coconut oil, sea salt, epsom salt, and witch hazel.  It's fabulous for your skin.  It's very moisturizing and made my skin feel extra soft.  It also contains banana extract, which gives it a soft banana scent, but it isn't overbearing.  I was a little worried because banana isn't my favorite scent, but I ended up loving this bath bomb.  I want to try other The Sugar Shak Collection products!

FullSizeRender.jpg

The second bath product this month was The Preserve Company's Hand and Body Scrub in Georgia-Florida State Line.  This is a sugar scrub that also contains epsom salt, mango butter, coconut and olive oils, peach and mango fragrance oils, orange zest and essential oils.  I've never liked peach, so I wasn't sure what I was going to think of this.  I ended up really liking the scent.  I can smell the peach, but it goes well with the orange.  This was a very exfoliating scrub that was also moisturizing.  I love a good hand scrub, so I've been using this for both my body in the shower and on my hands as needed.  This was my favorite product in this month's box.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Hand soap is always something I need, but I rarely see it in boxes.  I love Indigo Wild, so getting one of their products in a box is always a treat.  I had never tried their Zum Wash Natural Liquid Soap for Hands and Body before.  I got the Sea Salt scent, which is actually supposed to be citrus-y.  It smelled nothing like sea salt to me, so I'm not quite sure how they settled on that name.  The scent was a little on the hippie-ish side.  It wasn't my favorite scent and it stayed on my hands for an hour or so after I used it.  It cleaned my hands without drying them out.  I haven't tried this as a body wash, just as a hand soap, as I didn't want my whole body to smell like this soap.  I liked the product, but I would have preferred a different scent.  I would love to try the grapefruit and lemongrass scents.

FullSizeRender.jpg

The final product was the Modish Polish Nail Polish in Control Freak.  Terra Bella doesn't have nail polish often, so it's nice to get something different this month.  Control Freak is a deep red that is very pretty.  I wasn't familiar with Modish Polish, but I liked the formula.  It went on smoothly, was mostly opaque in one coat (though I recommend two coats), and it dries pretty quickly.  It held up on my nails for a couple of days with no major chips, which is really good for me as I can be hard on my nails.

I'm loving the June Terra Bella Box!  All four products were amazing.  My favorite product was The Preserve Company's Hand and Body Scrub, but I also loved the Modish Polish and The Sugar Shak Collection bath bomb.  I liked the Indigo Wild soap, but I would have preferred a different scent.  Overall, though, it was another fabulous box!